As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

On Updating Resumes and the Formatting Thereof

Steel AngelSteel Angel Registered User regular
edited October 2011 in Help / Advice Forum
So after being suddenly laid off Friday due to yet another bad quarter at my former employer, I find myself needing to update my resume. Now I have absolutely no issues with what I plan to append to it, but could use a little bit of insight otherwise.

The big thing is that when I started with the company a little over a year ago I was a relatively recent college graduate and most of my comp sci experience was from an undergraduate course of study so I had a list of classes in addition to the usual list of work experience and projects. I already had to shrink the font size in the word document version of the resume to make things fit. Now I have a lot more under my belt even with a relatively short stint in support engineering. So I'm contemplating dropping the coursework list since I actually have industry experience now but wasn't sure if I should go through with doing so. I've heard conflicting things about whether going over one page is kosher on a resume and am tempted to leave the classes (though perhaps with trimming) to give a fuller picture of what I've learned. Additionally, most employers seem to be picking up the online version of my resume on Monster and the like where I'm not sure the page even ends.