As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Trenches comic: Tuesday Oct. 25, 2011

BogeyBogey I'm back, baby!Santa Monica, CAModerator mod
edited October 2011 in The Penny Arcade Hub
i-kL5nH76.jpg
But I didn’t WANT time off!

10/25/2011 - Anonymous

I was a contractor working for a large game company at the time, had only tested one title and was just finishing up my second. I got the feeling that they were going to fire a bunch of us after the title was over, but my lead kept telling me not to worry and that I was too valuable to let go. After the game had finished, I was driving from work and my phone rings.

“Your services are no longer required.”

I was crushed. I was only getting paid $7.50 an hour and with all my bills I had no means to support myself. For a solid week, I was job hunting and sent out literally HUNDREDS of applications. Also, because I had only worked for that company for 7 months I didn’t qualify for unemployment benefits.

I woke up one morning to my phone ringing. It was one of the other leads that I knew. “Hey, you want to work.” I leaped at the opportunity. I walked in the next day and the contract company rep stopped me and the following exchange took place:

Him: How’d you enjoy your week off?
Me: What?
Him: Yeah, we gave a couple of guys the week off for all the work y’all did.
Me: But… you called and fired me.
Him: Oh nononononono, that’s not what happened!
Me: Then why did you call and TELL me that my services were no longer required?
Him: Don’t worry about that, but we DO need you to refill out all your tax information.
Me: So you fired me?
Him: NO! Why do you keep assuming we fired you?

I decided to just stop and fill out the info for him again so I could come back from my “vacation.”

Fitocracy: Join us in the SE++ group!