As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Can't power on new build

either,oreither,or Registered User regular
Sorry for the rambling nature of my post, I got some bad news today. To take my mind off of it for a little while I decided to put together all the new parts for my pc (mobo, processor, psu, memory) and it isn't turning on. Maybe I should have waited! When I turn the PSU on a green LED lights up on the motherboard so it's obviously getting power, but it won't boot. I have reseated everything. The only thing I can think of is that the front panel isn't hooked up to the motherboard properly, though I have reseated that too (I think. Old motherboard had a very clearly marked front panel 1 whereas on this the only thing with the same socket was COM1 so I just assumed it was the same thing, maybe I have overlooked something). This is the first time I've done anything this big so I may have made an error or two along the way so if there's anything obvious I should check please let me know. Or anything else at all I can try. Thank you!

steam_sig.png
3DS friend code: 4811-7214-5053
either,or on

Posts

  • TychoCelchuuuTychoCelchuuu PIGEON Registered User regular
    Messed up front panel is definitely the first thing to check, because it just sounds like the power button isn't turning it on.

  • AndorienAndorien Registered User regular
    edited January 2012
    There's a way you can bypass the front panel altogether, so you can make sure that's not the problem.

    With everything hooked up except the front panel, take a screwdriver and have it touch the two prongs you would connect the power switch to. This should complete the circuit in the same way pressing the power button would, and turn on the system (you can also do this to turn on a system completely removed from a case).

    Andorien on
  • Skoal CatSkoal Cat Registered User regular
    On my recent build, I completely missed the second power cable my mobo needed

  • Good IdeaGood Idea Registered User regular
    edited January 2012
    COM1 is most certainly the wrong one. Your motherboard may have the pins labelled individually, like in the first image in this page. Best to have a look in the manual, though. Can you give us the model of the board?

    Good Idea on
  • SynthesisSynthesis Honda Today! Registered User regular
    I've said it once, but it bears repeating: fucking pins.

    Sounds like you faulted on the pins linking to the front of the case, as already mentioned--because, you know, you're human.

  • either,oreither,or Registered User regular
    edited January 2012
    Board is an asus p8z68 v lx. I'll try your suggestions now thank you. if i have faulted the pins is there a chance i have broken anything? I've taken the graphics card out to give me some more room to try and see what I've missed .

    Edit! I did find 'panel' tucked away in the corner! Unfortunately the cable I have from the front panel doesn't line up with the pins. It's also.considerably larger! I can upload some pictures if that would help? Thanks so much for your help so far!

    either,or on
    steam_sig.png
    3DS friend code: 4811-7214-5053
  • FoomyFoomy Registered User regular
    just to check you have connected all the power cables right? there is a separate 8-pin cable to power the cpu just above and to the left of the cpu socket.

    the power switch pins will be on the bottom row, pins #6 & 7 if you count from left to right. just touch both pins with any bit of metal you have around, paperclip,piece of wire etc and it should boot up.

    Steam Profile: FoomyFooms
  • Donovan PuppyfuckerDonovan Puppyfucker A dagger in the dark is worth a thousand swords in the morningRegistered User regular
    Don't ASUS motherboards come with that quick connect thing?

    Specifically;

    quick%20connect%20terminal%20blocks_thumb.jpg

  • either,oreither,or Registered User regular
    edited January 2012
    No I didn't get one of those for some reason! The power cables are connected properly. I think this is a problem more to do with my distraction/ineptitude and complete lack of knowledge now. Just for clarity, this is what I'm working with https://plus.google.com/photos/103135057861707907473/albums/posts

    whereas the cable I have is like the reverse of a usb cable, 9 pins where the bottom right / top left is filled in.

    either,or on
    steam_sig.png
    3DS friend code: 4811-7214-5053
  • Good IdeaGood Idea Registered User regular
    edited January 2012
    That sounds weird. I can see how that could fit the COM1 port. What case do you have, and could you show us the cable?

    edit: Maybe it fits like so?
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7791086/mboardfpanel.PNG

    If it does, you might have separate cables for the LEDs, but those are not strictly necessary. I've left mine off because mine are blindingly bright blue.

    Good Idea on
  • either,oreither,or Registered User regular
    edited January 2012
    It worked! Thank you. The LEDs work too for some reason? I really don't understand, but I'm just grateful it's booting up. Though it went into Windows which I don't understand, I was expecting to have to reinstall it.

    Edit: Making this edit on my now working perfectly well PC thanks to this thread. It found the Windows install on the hard drive, told me it was counterfeit but after putting in an old upgrade key we're friends again.

    either,or on
    steam_sig.png
    3DS friend code: 4811-7214-5053
Sign In or Register to comment.