Options

Allright, I'll just ask. What exactly does an MCSE do?

The LandoStanderThe LandoStander Registered User regular
edited February 2012 in Help / Advice Forum
I'm considering getting into an MCSE training program at the local career 'university' here in Louisville because my Psych degree isn't really weathering the recession/job market since I graduated and such. A friend from college (the only one of my group of college friends who wasn't in the Psych program) who's been employed since graduating with his BS in Comp Sci recommended picking up an MCSE rather than something like an A+ cert or Network+.

So far as I understand it jobs that would want an MCSE would be fairly low on the totem pole but a 4 year degree isn't something I can knock out in my current position. Still, any sort of google for MCSE info really just provides a list of online classes and colleges and such and not a clear idea of the sort of day to day stuff that someone who's an MCSE has to deal with. I'm sure things vary between positions but I'm sure there's a lot more to "managing systems" or "administering networks" than just a couple of words. Honestly it's my intention to try and get a cert like this so I can try and be the office's next IT guy, we seem to go through them fairly regularly.

Maybe someday, they'll see a hero's just a man. Who knows he's free.
The LandoStander on

• Options
    WildEEPWildEEP Registered User regular
    edited February 2012
    An MCSE just means you understand the Microsoft server product line. How to setup and maintain servers using Windows Server 2000, 2003, 2008, etc.
    It’s a certification that to most businesses means, "I know how to make computers do stuff".

It’s a lot like your Psych degree in the IT world...what are your daily duties as a Psych graduate?

Yeah, its kind of like that.

It isn’t going to land you a job just because you have it - those days have passed.