As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Preparing My Life for the Peace Corps

OddsonOddson my name is chanceTexasRegistered User regular
edited February 2012 in Help / Advice Forum
I am posting to ask for advice on establishing habits, connections, or experiences that will help me get into and thrive in the Peace Corps. This is kind of an open ended question, but let me give some context so I can be more specific.

I am a sophomore at the University of North Texas majoring in Sociology, hopefully minoring in Non-profit Leadership & Management. My current GPA is a 2.5, finally stabilizing after a roller coaster of a freshman year that went from .5 in the fall which I brought up to a 3.1 by sophomore year. Last semester was mediocre, because after finally acquiring some time management skills I erroneously figured I could handle 17 hours of classes with a 20 hour a week job. This resulted in an F, 2 B's, and 2 C's and was just generally incredibly stressful/harsh on my emotions, mind, and body. This semester I reined it in at 12 hours of classes and the same 20 hour job, which is just sooo much better. I have free time now, manageable reading, and more freedom about the lifestyle I choose to live.