As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Suing a college

Giggles_FunsworthGiggles_Funsworth Blight on DiscourseBay Area SprawlRegistered User regular
edited April 2012 in Help / Advice Forum
From 2006-2008 I went to a for profit career oriented trade school/college. It was a mostly poor decision, and a mostly poor experience, in large part because of when I got my degree, and I ended up unemployed for two and a half years after that. That's not what I want to sue them for though.

A couple months after I finished they sent me a check for sixty some odd dollars they'd overcharged me.

A year after that, in 2009, they sent me a bill that said I still owed them $600. I called them up (or they called me up, hard to remember how things went what with all the paralyzing fear), told them I'd been long term unemployed, and asked them if there was any sort of way I could schedule payments. They said there was no way to schedule payments with them, but they'd send it to the debt collectors and they were real understanding about taking payments! Because of this and a couple other things that happened later my credit is now completely wrecked, I won't be able to get a car/home loan any time in the near future etc.

Just now (April 4th) they sent me a check for almost $2000 with no explanation. I just don't even. If they do in fact owe me (more) money and this isn't some grievous error, is there some way to sue them for the almost $1000 I ended up paying the debt collectors when I finally could a year and a half later, the damage to my credit as a result, etc. etc.