As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Flying with a cat

ZeromusZeromus Registered User regular
edited October 2012 in Help / Advice Forum
So, it can't be avoided: Toward the end of December, I'm going to have to fly with my cat Rex—which, naturally, I've never done before.

I've already booked the flight, reserved his spot on it, and purchased an airline-approved carrier. We'll also be going to the vet beforehand to get all checked up.

I'm mostly concerned about getting through the airport—I have to remove him from the carrier to go through security—and handling him on the plane itself. He's fairly small but very energetic and vocal, and he's never been able to spend time outside of our apartment before, so I'm really not sure how he's going to react to the experience.

Any general tips, especially on keeping him calm, are appreciated. I've read that tranquilizers are actually not the way to go, but I'll have a conversation with the vet about it.

Thanks!

pygsig.png
Zeromus on

• Options
    Magic PinkMagic Pink Tur-Boner-Fed Registered User regular
    edited October 2012
    See if you're vet can't get him some kitty valium or something along those lines; something not to the level of a tranquilizer. They have some pretty safe stuff to use but if the vet says no then no it is.

Magic Pink on
  • Options
    Oh, I also wanted to specify that, thankfully, it's not a very long flight and I booked it nonstop: Just from New York to Chicago.

pygsig.png
  • Options
    mtsmts Dr. Robot King Registered User regular
    well if you do get drugs i would highly suggest giving him one before hand to see how he reacts to it.