As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

I think I have DNS issues on my network

JamesKeenanJamesKeenan Registered User regular
Regularly on all workstations for any website, the initial attempt to connect to a website the fails citing a DNS error, but 1 or rarely 2 refreshes and it connects just fine, and quickly.

I feel this also affects the fact that the ttfb for the webserver running on a virtual machine is something like 7 seconds.


I have no idea where to start debugging this issue. And I'm the IT guy, embarrassingly enough.

Posts

  • wmelonwmelon Registered User regular
    I'd probably start with making sure your workstations can consistently get to your dns servers. I'd probably run a constant ping and watch for any packets that don't get returned.

    If you see those then you can start trying to figure out where the failure is. Do you have any ethernet cable testers?

  • JamesKeenanJamesKeenan Registered User regular
    wmelon wrote: »
    I'd probably start with making sure your workstations can consistently get to your dns servers. I'd probably run a constant ping and watch for any packets that don't get returned.

    If you see those then you can start trying to figure out where the failure is. Do you have any ethernet cable testers?

    Thank you for the reply, really. I know it's probably something simple that's just unknown to me.

    I ran

    ping -t 192.168.etc.etc for the network DNS server. mostly 1-2ms pings, occasionally 80ms. But no timeouts.

    I have a cable tester, I'll try that. It's just that the workstations reaching outside is intermittent and not constant, but the website never loads fast. I don't know the impact of having a webserver as a VM though.

  • TheKoolEagleTheKoolEagle Registered User regular
    Are these computers set to specific addresses on your lan? Does your router have defined primary and secondary dns servers listed on its status page?

    If you bypass the router and go directly into your modem with a pc, do you get the errors?

    Most DNS errors I see are from either having it defined incorrectly in network settings, or from a router not using dns servers properly.

    uNMAGLm.png Mon-Fri 8:30 PM CST - 11:30 PM CST
  • JamesKeenanJamesKeenan Registered User regular
    edited December 2012
    @TheKoolEagle

    The webserver is dhcp, the DNS server and the router are both using 8.8.4.4 and 8.8.8.8.

    I appreciate the help. I'm definitely going to figure this out eventually.

    JamesKeenan on
  • AumniAumni Registered User regular
    edited December 2012
    Do you have any DNS settings from your provider?

    Generally they'll give you a pair, and at my place we general set the third DNS to 8.8.8.8 or 8.8.4.4 in case our internal DNS fails.

    If your router is giving out DHCP, it might have a separate DNS setting for lease range.

    Edit: I don't know anything about networking btw.

    Aumni on
    http://steamcommunity.com/id/aumni/ Battlenet: Aumni#1978 GW2: Aumni.1425 PSN: Aumnius
  • FeralFeral MEMETICHARIZARD interior crocodile alligator ⇔ ǝɹʇɐǝɥʇ ǝᴉʌoɯ ʇǝloɹʌǝɥɔ ɐ ǝʌᴉɹp ᴉRegistered User regular
    edited December 2012
    @JamesKeenan

    Please describe this network a little bit.

    Is there an Active Directory server on your network?

    When you said
    ping -t 192.168.etc.etc for the network DNS server. mostly 1-2ms pings, occasionally 80ms. But no timeouts.

    Is "192.168.etc.etc." the local IP address for your Active Directory server?

    If not, then what sort of device is serving up DNS?



    Also, perform an nslookup. Open up a command prompt and type 'nslookup'.

    You should receive a response similar to this:
    Default Server: servername.networkname.domain
    Address: 192.168.x.x
    
    >
    

    Type the address of any major public website, for instance
    www.google.com
    

    You should immediately receive a response similar to:
    Default Server: servername.networkname.domain
    Address: 192.168.x.x
    
    Non-authoritative answer:
    Name:    www.google.com
    Addresses:  2607:f8b0:400e:c02::63
              173.194.79.104
              173.194.79.106
              173.194.79.147
              173.194.79.105
              173.194.79.103
              173.194.79.99
    

    If you receive anything else, or if this result does not appear immediately, let us know what you get.

    Feral on
    every person who doesn't like an acquired taste always seems to think everyone who likes it is faking it. it should be an official fallacy.

    the "no true scotch man" fallacy.
  • RozRoz Boss of InternetRegistered User regular
    Also is this just HTTP requests, or do you get similar results for other types of requests FTP, etc?

Sign In or Register to comment.