Options

[Homebrewing] Or how I learned to stop worrying and brew my own damn beer

• Options
    kuhlmeyekuhlmeye Registered User regular
    m!ttens wrote: »
    Hi homebrew thread,

I made a pumpkin spiced ale Saturday, which I've never done before, and when I tasted my wort's O.G. sample, it had a pretty harsh, bitter taste. Do you think that's because of the pumpkin (doubled from recipe) or spices (added a bunch more than recipe called for)? This was on suggestion from others that the beer turned out not spicy or pumpkin-y enough. I'm hoping everything will mellow out over time. I'll transfer to secondary on Saturday and take another reading/sample, but I'm wondering if anyone here has experience with pumpkin beers.

(N.B. filthy extract brewing peasant here. No space for all-grain where I live)

This is great, I've made 3 batches of my pumpkin ale so far (my base kit is from Midwest though). I would imagine that the pumpkin and spices would add some odd flavors before fermentation, but I've never tasted it before at least a couple days of ferm. It should mellow out with time. Usually my pumpkin comes into its own after six or eight weeks.

PSN: the-K-flash
  • Options
    m!ttensm!ttens he/himRegistered User regular
    edited September 2013
    Yeah, the base kit was from Midwest and I used two big cans of pumpkin, 1½ tsp cinnamon, 1½ tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp clove, ¾ tsp allspice, and ½ tsp ginger.

tumblr_me034vscR61rjr1zoo1_500.jpg

EDIT: because I couldn't have decimal and fraction measurements in the same sentence.

m!ttens on
  • Options
    KoldanarKoldanar Registered User regular
    So I have two experiments currently on-going.

First, I tried out an all grain brew in a bag. I made a Belgian tripel, still bottle aging.

Second, I did a normal extract batch / specialty grain brewing of a nut brown ale, but I added some fall spices to the mix. Hopefully, I'll have a good strong tripel by the end of the month, and an awesome fall beer right after!