Options

Recommendations/advice: Need a commuter bike for school

HamurabiHamurabi MiamiRegistered User regular
So initially I thought I could get by just walking everywhere, because this town is very pedestrian-friendly... but (shock of shocks) walking is tiresome and time-consuming. So now I'm looking for a bike.

I guess I need to take my height into account when looking for the right bike?
  • I'm 6'3".
  • I need the simplest, most durable, most maintenance-free style of bike I can possibly find.
  • I'm also a grad student, so carrying capacity is a big concern. I need a bike that can handle a front basket and "saddle" (is that what they're called?) for extra carrying capacity.
  • I'm a grad student, so I'm poor as fuck. I can part with an absolute max of like $200.
  • If weather is a consideration when purchasing a bike, I'll be riding it in New England mainly during the winter.

(Please lemme know if there's anything else I should be taking into account, or if there's any missing pertinent info.)

There seems to be a lively bike culture (and market for used bikes) here in Boston/Cambridge, so I don't suspect I'll have a hard time finding a solid used bike locally. I am however willing to buy new online, if it's really worth the investment to buy new.

Thanks for any help!

• Options
    ThunderSaidThunderSaid Registered User regular
    I'm also a big dude, and I ride a Kona Smoke 2-9 (They switched to 29" tires that model year, so they designated it 2-9 to differentiate from the previous models. I think newer models were just called a Kona Smoke, but still have the 29" tires). Anyway, I really like it, and it would probably fit your needs. I don't think they make them anymore, but you could probably find a used one in your $200 range. Kona's other offerings might be worth looking into as well. My wife has a Kona Dew and really likes it.

• Options
    Jebus314Jebus314 Registered User regular
    edited August 2013