As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Wireless Headaches

HakkekageHakkekage Space Whore Academysumma cum laudeRegistered User regular
edited April 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
Right then, I'm having really irritating problems with my wireless that I need fixed as quickly as possible. Here is the gist of it:

I used to use an external D-link wireless card on my old computer which was really unstable and disconnected at random. It was also really weak, too; if it said the signal was 'excellent', I knew it had stopped working. I usually fixed it by pulling out the USB and putting it back in. If that didn't work, I rebooted the computer and that would usually fix it.

However, I was sick to hell of how it kept on disconnecting and needed manual help to get it to reconnect (leaving things to download through the night didn't work too well for this reason), so I asked the guy who built my computer for help. Today he installed a PCI CardBus that went inside my case and seemed pretty freaking strong. The only thing was that it said "No Signal" when we checked the status, but it worked fine, even better than the old one (My download speeds were insane!). But I was on the internet later on and it started to slow, until it finally stopped receiving a signal at all.

Perplexed, since I very well couldn't just pull it out of the computer and put it back in, I tried to get it to connect to some other router, but it wouldn't work. Then, when trying to see the properties, I accidentally clicked disable. Really, really upset now, I restarted the computer; nothing. I went into network connections and enabled it, but still nothing. So I rebooted again. Still nothing. Not wanting to pull it out of the case and risk damaging it, I tried to hook up my old external card, but no dice; My computer didn't recognize it, and it kept saying that the CardBus was not plugged in. I uninstalled the PCI card and reran the driver for the D-link card, rebooted, and...nothing. Now I'm mad ticked off because dammit, I need the bloody internet.

Right now I've nabbed my sister's laptop while she's watching TV, so help quick would be massively appreciated while I still have the ability to view it. Also keep in mind these two things:

1) I am the most tech retarded person on the face of the planet. I'm the kind of girl tech support wishes they could strangle through the telephone for being such a bane to the future of humanity. So keep it as simple as possible, please.

2) My router is also a piece of shit even though it's only in the next room, which explains why my signal has a tendency to dip and rise like a rollercoaster. However, I'd still like to know a way for a quick and dirty fix to these sudden dips in wireless availability for future reference, like I had with my old card.

Please to be helping?

3DS: 2165 - 6538 - 3417
NNID: Hakkekage
Hakkekage on

Posts

  • HakkekageHakkekage Space Whore Academy summa cum laudeRegistered User regular
    edited April 2007
    Ok, since my computer refused top recognize my D-link no matter how many times I ran and reran the driver for it (it kept on using the unresponsive PCI card), one of my many attempts to uninstall the bloody CardBus and reinstall it actually worked, and now it is tenuously hanging on at 1.0 Mbps (It took ages for this page to load). I still think that this will definately happen again the in future, so I really need some safeguard/aforementioned quick and dirty fixes.

    Also, tips on how to get the card out of my computer if I ever need to; I had considered just taking the bloody thing out so my computer would stop ignoring the D-link, but having never done this before, I had no clue how to pull it out of the PCI slot without damaging it.

    Advice would be really really appreciated. I'll send you keeses and <3 and everything. I have a crapload of projects to do which require convenient internet access, and the PCI card which was to be my savior backfired pretty badly on me, so you know, please. Assistance.

    Hakkekage on
    3DS: 2165 - 6538 - 3417
    NNID: Hakkekage
  • RepoMan1023RepoMan1023 Registered User regular
    edited April 2007
    You provided a lot of information, but there are still some more we need before we even try to help. What band of wireless are you using? B? G? Somewhere on the router or on your computer's wireless connection screen it will say 802.11b or 802.11g. It's important that your wireless card (PCI one) is the same band as the router, however most "G's" can do "B." We also need to know what types of security is on your wireless network if there is any at all. We also need to know how is your wireless router hooked up to the internet and if you can connect to it with a pc?

    To remove a PCI card from the computer, you just have unscrew one screw on the side that holds the card down. Then pull up and it should come out.

    RepoMan1023 on
    splasersigqg6.jpg
    RepoMan1023.gif
  • HakkekageHakkekage Space Whore Academy summa cum laudeRegistered User regular
    edited April 2007
    1) D-link Card and Router are G; PCI card is B/G.

    2) There is no security on my wireless network. Stupid move I know, but it severely fucks with my ability to connect to the internet anyway.

    3) Router connected to modem which is connected to father's computer in the next room over. It's a belkin54g (and it sucks).

    And yeah, I figured out how to remove the card, thanks anyway. Now connected via even more unstable than before D-link (keeps on disconnecting).

    Hakkekage on
    3DS: 2165 - 6538 - 3417
    NNID: Hakkekage
  • FristleFristle Registered User regular
    edited April 2007
    If the wireless access is working, but not consistently, I would be 99% certain saying it is a hardware (or driver) issue, as opposed to a "configuration" issue. I've been through wireless drop-off hell before so I know what this is like. My solution was to replace the crap router with a decent one though. A good choice is a Linksys WRT54g, they're $40-$50 in stores. I went through three routers before this one and each of them gave me some kind of issue. That's probably not what you wanted to hear.

    If you know the specific model of wireless adapter you have, try downloading the latest version of the driver from the manufacturer's website and installing that. Apologies if you have already tried that.

    Another thing that can cause intermittent wireless disconnects is signal interference. On the router, there is a setting for which "channel" the wireless network is on. If multiple networks in range of yours are using the same channel, it can screw you up. Choose a channel that is at least two channels away from any others. So if you have a network near you using 3 and one using 9, you should use 6 for example. To change this setting you'll have to go to a computer that is on the network and open http://192.168.0.1 (usually the right address for the router, your mileage may vary). You'll get the settings page and you can change the setting from there. If it asks for a password, try the default password. If that's not it, find out who set it and get their help. If that IS it, change it ASAP.

    Fristle on
    Fristle.jpg
  • HakkekageHakkekage Space Whore Academy summa cum laudeRegistered User regular
    edited April 2007
    No no, that's very helpful; I've definitely been looking into new routers. I figured that intermittent signals may be the reason my network adapters keep on dropping the connection at random times. The linksys suggestion is also great; it looks affordable and seems to be less insane than my belkin. Do you have to restart it often, or anything? And is the range any good? I'm reading the product descriptions and I oddly do not see any mention of its range.

    Also, the router address times out on me, but fuck it, I'm getting a new router. Thanks for the advice.

    Hakkekage on
    3DS: 2165 - 6538 - 3417
    NNID: Hakkekage
  • jclastjclast Registered User regular
    edited April 2007
    I've used that model of Linksys router for about a year, and I've never had to power cycle it unless my cable modem freaked out (maybe 3 times in the last 12 months).

    And it's got all this connected to it without seeing a dip in performance for any device:
    Wii
    360
    DS
    laptop

    And if you want (minimal) security, WEP is insanely easy to set up. It also supports WPA, but the DS (phat anyhow, I don't have a Lite) only supports WPA.

    jclast on
    camo_sig2.png
  • HakkekageHakkekage Space Whore Academy summa cum laudeRegistered User regular
    edited April 2007
    neth wrote:
    you said you mostly restart your computer, or unplug the USB; Have you tried restarting the router when you have this problem instead? Perhaps it's really a problem with it and the time it takes you to restart your computer/unplug the USB it resolves itself?

    So basically, my suggestion is next time it craps out, unplug your router for 10 seconds or so, plug it back in and see if you reconnect.

    Yes, if I restart and nothing starts working then I know it's the router, so I go into the other room and restart it. But usually it's the wireless card crapping out on me, which needs to be restarted with a USB tug or a reboot.

    EDIT: Uh, neth? Where...where did you go D:

    Hakkekage on
    3DS: 2165 - 6538 - 3417
    NNID: Hakkekage
  • nethneth Registered User regular
    edited April 2007
    lol, that d00d above me said all the same stuff, so i figured my post was useless, but you ninja quoted me!

    since you say you restart the router and it still doesn't reconnect i would guess it's the card, perhaps you just have had bad luck with the that other card also since you were using a laptop that did not have any of the same issues. You could try replacing your USB wireless with a new one (if it doesn't work, return it and no money lost), or see if there are any driver updates for your current one.

    neth on
  • HakkekageHakkekage Space Whore Academy summa cum laudeRegistered User regular
    edited April 2007
    Yeah, I checked driver updates, and this card had pretty much been abandoned by D-link (last driver update in 2003). And I think you misunderstand; when I reboot the router everything works just fine again until the next crapout session. It's just that the wireless card craps out more often, and is more conveniently restarted.

    Since there's enough support for the linksys router, I'm going to say that this topic has been exhausted (unless the router doesn't work when i get it D: ), so thanks to everyone who responded. Mods you can let this sink into oblivion now.

    Hakkekage on
    3DS: 2165 - 6538 - 3417
    NNID: Hakkekage
  • mchief84248mchief84248 Registered User new member
    edited April 2007
    What kind of PCI CardBus is it? Is it wireless or ethernet? Who makes it and what model is it? Does it have crappy reviews on amazon or anything? Did you install the newest drivers? For what program would you say it is slow, the internet browser, games, or bittorrent/limewire or whatever? Does the other laptop get a crappy signal as well? When was the last time you entirely reset your router and reconfigured the router?

    Also, the main hints I would give you would be to go to "run" under "start" type in command , and then try these two commands:

    ping www.yahoo.com
    ipconfig /all

    ps. I would recommend not to post everything that those commands generate. Specifically your current ip, dns (ie asdf.comcast.com) and probably some other obvious and not-so obvious stuff.

    edit: wow I am really a noob to these forums, I though the post at the bottom was the most recent.

    mchief84248 on
  • RuckusRuckus Registered User regular
    edited April 2007
    Jesusfuck has ANYONE asked her what channel her wireless router is on?

    Ruckus on
  • nethneth Registered User regular
    edited April 2007
    Fristle wrote: »
    Another thing that can cause intermittent wireless disconnects is signal interference. On the router, there is a setting for which "channel" the wireless network is on. If multiple networks in range of yours are using the same channel, it can screw you up. Choose a channel that is at least two channels away from any others. So if you have a network near you using 3 and one using 9, you should use 6 for example. To change this setting you'll have to go to a computer that is on the network and open http://192.168.0.1 (usually the right address for the router, your mileage may vary). You'll get the settings page and you can change the setting from there. If it asks for a password, try the default password. If that's not it, find out who set it and get their help. If that IS it, change it ASAP.

    yes they have

    neth on
  • HakkekageHakkekage Space Whore Academy summa cum laudeRegistered User regular
    edited April 2007
    What kind of PCI CardBus is it? Is it wireless or ethernet? Who makes it and what model is it? Does it have crappy reviews on amazon or anything? Did you install the newest drivers? For what program would you say it is slow, the internet browser, games, or bittorrent/limewire or whatever? Does the other laptop get a crappy signal as well? When was the last time you entirely reset your router and reconfigured the router?

    Also, the main hints I would give you would be to go to "run" under "start" type in command , and then try these two commands:

    ping www.yahoo.com
    ipconfig /all

    ps. I would recommend not to post everything that those commands generate. Specifically your current ip, dns (ie asdf.comcast.com) and probably some other obvious and not-so obvious stuff.

    edit: wow I am really a noob to these forums, I though the post at the bottom was the most recent.

    Here it is on Amazon, and here is the page from the maker's website, Zonet. The model number is ZEW1602. Since it only has two reviews on amazon, I think it's pretty inconclusive.

    It was fast with pretty much everything when I first installed it, with great Bittorrent speeds as well as internet pages (I didn't play games while it was in). Then (I guess when the router started being bitchy), it went under and sort of sputtered out connectivity.

    The laptop is a little bit slower when loading web pages than I am even with the D-link though it says that its connection is "Good", but I attribute that to the laptop being slower overall.

    If by 'reseting the router' you mean unplugging it and plugging it in again, yesterday. If I pick up the phone and I don't hear a dial tone I just flip the switch on the whole router-modem-phone shebang and turn it back on. I'm not sure how you reconfigure a router, so no comment.

    As for your hint, if it requires opening up the computer to stick the PCI card back in, I don't think I'll try that right now. I'm not in the mood to go dashing all other the house to find a screwdriver.

    Hakkekage on
    3DS: 2165 - 6538 - 3417
    NNID: Hakkekage
Sign In or Register to comment.