As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

[TRENCHES] Tuesday, October 8, 2013 - Guest Art - Amy T. Falcone

GethGeth LegionPerseus VeilRegistered User, Moderator, Penny Arcade Staff, Vanilla Staff vanilla
edited October 2013 in The Penny Arcade Hub
Guest Art - Amy T. Falcone

Guest Art - Amy T. Falcone
http://trenchescomic.com/comic/post/guest-art-amy-t.-falcone

We’re not all monsters

Anonymous

I’m a game developer working on AAA titles, and some of the stories I’ve read here are just plain sickening.

At my company, nobody slaps food out of the hands of testers when we have catered lunches. Nobody makes them fight tooth and nail for supplies for testing the game. Their opinions are actively solicited -
at the end of the day, the responsible developer is making the call, but I know for a fact that feedback is taken into account. Nobody has been locked in a closet to work. I’ve actually heard the executive producer say variations of the phrase, “There’s a special place in Hell for people who abuse QA testers.” Hours are long for QA, but they’re long for everybody in this industry.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not denying that these things happen. We’ve all heard the stories and many of us have lived them. It’s also definitely true that QA is a rough job even when you’re not being actively denigrated. The hours are long, the pay isn’t good, it’s repetitive… really, it’s no more than a step or two above flipping burgers in terms of quality of life. And you know what? That sucks. It’s not hard to treat someone else like a human being.

I just wanted to point out that game devs aren’t all monsters.

Geth on

• Options
    Angry_SamoanAngry_Samoan Now with 20% more mange... Registered User regular
    Nice, but isn't it all really guest art at this point?