As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Embarassingly Basic Maths Question

poshnialloposhniallo Registered User regular
Hi

This is not homework - it's just maths for a hobbygame I'm thinking about.

I have 3 groups of 5 elements - let's call them A B C D E, M N O P Q, and V W X Y Z.

If a given entity is assigned one from each group, e.g. AMV or ANW, or even CYV - how many possible entities are there?

This is assuming, by the way, that AMV and VMA are distinct from each other. Order matters.

I think it's a huge amount - 625 maybe? But I'm not sure.

Can someone help me out please? Thanks.

I figure I could take a bear.

Posts

  • RichyRichy Registered User regular
    poshniallo wrote: »
    If a given entity is assigned one from each group, e.g. AMV or ANW, or even CYV

    Y and V are in the same group. Is this a typo or do you allow multiple elements from the same group?

    sig.gif
  • BSoBBSoB Registered User regular
    5*5*5 is order doesn't matter

    order does matter adds a *3! AKA 6

    so 5*5*5*6 is 750?

    its been awhile since i've done prob, but that makes my sanity check.



    RichyMsAnthropySir LandsharkJuliusposhniallo
  • RichyRichy Registered User regular
    If you only allow one element per group:
    You have five elements in each group, so the number of possible combinations is 5*5*5. Then each combination can be written in 6 different ways by changing the order. So the total is 5*5*5*6 = 750.

    sig.gif
    MsAnthropybowenSir LandsharkposhnialloTehSloth
  • bowenbowen How you doin'? Registered User regular
    edited November 2013
    Do the numbers get used up?

    15*14*13 = 2730 combinations ?

    I have terrible math when it comes to non-algebra stuff though.

    Also, CYV doesn't come from each group.

    bowen on
    not a doctor, not a lawyer, examples I use may not be fully researched so don't take out of context plz, don't @ me
  • McKidMcKid Registered User regular
    You already said that order doesn't matter, but we need to know :
    1)Can you pick more than an element in each group ?
    2)If yes, can the same element be picked more than once ?

  • poshnialloposhniallo Registered User regular
    Order does matter, and that was a typo about Y and V being in the same group.

    Thanks! That makes complete sense. I knew it was about 5 cubed, and I knew it was about 3!, but I couldn't remember what to do with them.

    I figure I could take a bear.
Sign In or Register to comment.