As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Wavering Computer Science Major

Panic ButtonPanic Button Robo-cannibalRegistered User regular
I'm currently in my third year of university majoring in English and Computer Science, with a smattering of art courses wherever I can find space. I chose CS because I wanted my computer to feel less like a magic box. I wanted to know why it can do the things it does. Also, I thought the job prospects after graduation were strong. Due to changing schools and general confusion about my life, I started the major later than usual, but can complete it on schedule, so I'm not worried about needing extra time. The problem I'm having is that I don't think I'm particularly good at coding.

Last semester was my first exposure to it, and we worked mainly in Racket and OCaml. I scraped by, but my grades weren't great. This semester is mostly Java and Scala, which I like much more than the previous languages, but I still am not stellar at programming. It's the only thing I've ever done where my progress seems totally uncoupled from the time I put into it. Sometimes the answer to a problem is clear immediately, and other times I pick away at it for hours with no useful results. For anyone who was a CS major, is this a normal experience when starting out? It's quite discouraging, and while CS jobs are plentiful, they are also competitive. I won't have much luck if I'm just not very good at coding.