As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Donating old college textbooks

KamiroKamiro Registered User regular
I'm moving shortly and I've been lugging a bunch of my old college textbooks around since I graduated (5 years ago) on the offhand chance that I would reference them. I haven't touched them since they went into the box.

I don't want to just throw them away since I paid a good amount of money for them and I'd like them to get some use.

However, when looking for places to donate them they all state that the textbooks should be no more than 3-6 years old and most of mine are older than that.

They're mostly Computer Science related with a mixture of some upper level classes and intro classes.

Any idea of a place in the DC area that would take these? I'd prefer not to have to mail them to some national organization as a 50+lb package would be super expensive.

• Options
    I ZimbraI Zimbra Worst song, played on ugliest guitar Registered User regular
    Unfortunately there isn't really any interest or value in old edition textbooks, particularly in CS. Your best bet is probably a local library or high school, at least for the intro level stuff. Otherwise you're better off recycling them.

• Options
    JuliusJulius Captain of Serenity on my shipRegistered User regular
    I Zimbra wrote: »
    Unfortunately there isn't really any interest or value in old edition textbooks, particularly in CS. Your best bet is probably a local library or high school, at least for the intro level stuff. Otherwise you're better off recycling them.

Yeah old textbooks are really of very little value. Recycling is probably the best option.

• Options
    xraydogxraydog Registered User regular
    edited August 2014