As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

[Illinois] Politics - Hey, at least we have a budget! ... for 6 months...

AthenorAthenor Battle Hardened OptimistThe Skies of HiigaraRegistered User regular
edited July 2016 in Debate and/or Discourse
[Full Disclosure: I am an employee of Illinois State University, a Public University of Illinois. I am a civil servant by designation, and am represented by a civil service council to the administration and board of trustees of the university. The thoughts below are mine and mine alone, and I am not a lawyer.]

Illinois. Land of Lincoln. 21st state of the Union. 25th in land mass, 5th in overall population.

Seen by outsiders as.. well.. Chicago. But more than that, it is a liberal stronghold, the home of Machine politics, and the place where four of its last seven governors have gone to prison.

This has been my home all my life. I've never known living in any other state. And I've had the... honor of watching it come to a complete standstill in the last few years.

First, a quick primer.

Here's the current Representative disctrict map.

K7aXUCgl.png

And here's a close-up of Chicago in specific:

Lgc0RpFl.png

The state is extremely diverse. Chicago is a sprawl that you wouldn't recognize as a large city from its suburbs, which breaks into skyscrapers and concrete at the loop. Downstate is soybean and corn fields in the middle, and hills and forests and rivers in the south. Poverty and racism are still prevalent in the south, or so the perception goes.