As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

HALP

The One Dark KnightThe One Dark Knight Registered User regular
edited May 2007 in Artist's Corner
redheadgk7.jpg

Ok guys

So I'm finally getting the hang of this tablet thing. And I'm screwing around and doodling, and ended up spending like three hours scribbling around, and this came out.

I think out of colored stuff it's the best job I've done so far (and only about my 4th or 5th real attempt at coloring something). I'm a total noob to digital painting in general. You guys are really helpful here, so if you could take this fairly poor example (and unfinished mind you, I had no idea what to do with the scabbard), and give me some general crits/tips, that would be great.

For one, I know I could ramp the contrast way, way up. I always seem to have my painting turn out this way ):

I spent too much time on the dress, when more simple strokes would have sufficed. And the scarf/head area isn't at the same contrast level as the rest is.

Anyway.

Thanks. I'll work more on it maybe and see what happens. Help a poor noob out?

EDIT: Also, any ideas on how to solve my contrast issue? I only notice it halfway in ):

[END]
The One Dark Knight on

• Options
    GodfatherGodfather Registered User regular
    edited May 2007
    Those colors are too flat. There just isn't enough contrast to make the character seem three-dimensional. Since I don't really know much about colors myself, the best advice that I could offer to you at this point would be to make your darks much darker and your lights much lighter. Nothing crazy or anything, just enough so that a gradual change is present while being in start contrast to one another.