As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Resources for learning Apache on Linux

CalicaCalica Registered User regular
My company has neither a sysadmin nor a DBA. I'm a developer and not really qualified to fill either of those roles, but there's no one else, so it falls to me. Googling for help results in the all-too-common problem of documentation assuming a certain level of basic knowledge that I do not have. Short of taking a few classes - not going to happen for several reasons - where can I learn the fundamentals of Apache on Linux and basic best practices for database administration?

My predecessors didn't even set up scheduled database backups.

Most of my experience is with IIS on Windows, and I'm not used to doing everything from a command prompt. I'm more than a little afraid of making a mistake that affects our hosted sites, because literally no one would know how to fix it, and I don't even know where the potential landmines are.

Also, judging by the rest of my job, there's a non-zero chance our server setup is held together by string and chewing gum; but I wouldn't necessarily recognize a bad decision in this context.

• Options
    thatassemblyguythatassemblyguy Janitor of Technical Debt .Registered User regular
    Since you're more used to IIS on Windows, the first question is: What's your baseline Linux knowledge base?

Apache docs are p. good. But, the horse book from O'Reilly isn't OK as a comprehensive guide to Apache, and the moose book has some best practices (cookbook).

But if you're not comfortable with Linux command line out of the gate, you might want to look into some quick tutorials from places like edx, udemy (don't ever pay more than $11 for a course, and look at the reviews), or other such online "academy".

• Options