As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Climate Change: Where every storm is Perfect

• Options
    Dis'Dis' Registered User regular
    *ahem*
    Anglo Iranian Oil Company

Don't forget it's also Standard Oil!

But yeah supermajors have been doing this for 20 years?

• Options
    HevachHevach Registered User regular
    edited August 2020
    See, I see this in a different light. I've been saying this for 15+ years: the oil companies aren't Captain Planet villains who can't achieve full erection without hand drowning a baby penguin in a vat of crude oil straight from a well drilled straight through the back of a live caribou in ANWR.

They're worse than that. They know they're the bad guys and want to be the good guys. They want to be the good guys so bad that they systematically attack and destroy the actual good guys while they struggle to play 30+ years of catch up in the good guys' industry so they can maintain their permanent hold on energy through yet another source change.

They're still going to fight for their corporate welfare and do everything they can to strangle renewables as they always have - in ways that won't affect companies with an alternate established revenue stream. They've always yanked the leashes on their own pets in congress when they get too aggressive with turbine bans and the like. They don't want any of it banned, and in fact want lots of free money for those things, they just don't want a bunch of new companies getting it all while the fossil fuel industries go bankrupt.

Hevach on
  • Options
    CouscousCouscous Registered User regular
    edited August 2020
    The administration is actively working to make environmental standards worse, no matter how minor it might be.