Options

Editorial Question

BlarghyBlarghy Registered User regular
So, I sometimes have to read over pamphlets/reports/books/etc that my friends write and give feedback. I'm not a professional editor or anything, so I have a question about something that I've noticed but don't really know how to concisely phrase (the person in question is someone that needs things explained simply in a way they can later google for follow up info if you want something you say to stick). One thing I've noticed that one of them tends to do is almost always have their sentences structured as something like:

1) Lunging forward, Bob suddenly grabbed the item.

as opposed to:

2) Bob lunged forward to suddenly grab the item.

Now, 1) is a perfectly valid way to do write things at times and can be very effective to convey certain ideas. However, when its used in almost every sentence, it gets a bit tiresome and repetitive. Is there a formal editorial or grammar term that defines the structure of sentence type 1)? I can convey the issue of repetitiveness easily enough, but I'm looking to see if sentence 1) has some easily google-able terminology associated with defining that "type" of sentence structure.

• Options
    SummaryJudgmentSummaryJudgment Grab the hottest iron you can find, stride in the Tower’s front door Registered User regular
    Blarghy wrote: »
    So, I sometimes have to read over pamphlets/reports/books/etc that my friends write and give feedback. I'm not a professional editor or anything, so I have a question about something that I've noticed but don't really know how to concisely phrase (the person in question is someone that needs things explained simply in a way they can later google for follow up info if you want something you say to stick). One thing I've noticed that one of them tends to do is almost always have their sentences structured as something like:

1) Lunging forward, Bob suddenly grabbed the item.

as opposed to: