As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Need Help Writing Songs

TaGuelleTaGuelle Registered User regular
edited May 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
Hey, This is my first post here, so congrats to myself.

I was wondering if there were any song writers amongst the bunch. I'm a decent musician and can write a decent song musically. But words can't describe the ammount of suck I am at writting lyrics/a melody for said lyrics. Any tips or suggestions on how to improve? What are some of the ways you have found to help you write them if you get blocked or frustrated?

TaGuelle on

• Options
    LaOsLaOs SaskatoonRegistered User regular
    edited May 2007
    I know that, myself as lyrical writer without the skills or drive to create the actual music, I would benefit from a loop tape of the song that I am to create lyrics for...

I know that I would like to be able to listen to the song, on loop, to no end until I could come up with bits that can be molded to fit what it is the song is... I can write to the music, but I need a loop of it to get my within it.

Would that helpÉ It also might be a big deal to get a lyricist... if you are a musician with no lyrical ability, well... and you know it, you may as well bite the bullet and see what talent you can pull.

LaOs on
  • Options
    Filler Inc.Filler Inc. Registered User regular
    edited May 2007
    It would help if we know what you play.

I play the guitar, and generally have no trouble writing songs for it, but how I write songs for the guitar may be no help to you if you play the piano.

Filler Inc. on
  • Options
    romanqwertyromanqwerty Registered User regular
    edited May 2007
    I find it impossible to write songs for a given melody and they allways turn out crap.