As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

[Total War] Immortal Empires arrives in August 23rd! Southlands Showdown Awaits!

• Options
    altidaltid Registered User regular
    Empire was ambition over ability. I'd still rate it as probably the most ambitious of all the total war titles for the sheer number of things it attempted to do.

You had the introduction of gunpowder units as standard, which needed a new engine to model them. Derivatives of that engine have been used for every TW since.
    It introduced full naval combat.
    It had a world map broken down into several distinct theaters, linked by trade routes.
    Trade routes themselves had to be managed and could be blockaded.
    The battles featured deployable equiptment, dismountable troops and occupiable buildings.
    It had a new territory system with minor towns etc.
    Diplomacy was also quite different to most preceding total war games from what I remember.

Basically they tried to do an absolute ton of stuff, but a lot of it was buggy or poorly thought out and the AI couldn't handle a good part of it. I'd love to see them try again with the same level of ambition and more time to perfect it.

• Options
    JusticeforPlutoJusticeforPluto Registered User regular
    I still want my Pike and Shot Total War game. Especially based around the 30 years war.

And give me another Medieval game!

• Options
    That_GuyThat_Guy I don't wanna be that guy Registered User regular
    Just saying... there's plenty of pikes and powder in Warhammer.

• Options
    MassenaMassena Registered User regular
    I still want my Pike and Shot Total War game. Especially based around the 30 years war.

And give me another Medieval game!