As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Finding first job at 17 (resume writing)

arcticmonkeysfanarcticmonkeysfan Registered User regular
edited June 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
So here's the deal. I'm a 17 year-old grade 11 student living in Kanata (A suburb of Ottawa), Ontario, Canada. I have no former employment history. I have some volunteer experience. I worked for a month as a camp counselor working with children 6-12 years old. I received 40 hours of training before I did that. I'm a pretty responsible kid and I get good grades in school.

I live less than 5 minutes from a large outdoor strip mall where there are some places looking to hire. I am mainly looking for some help on what I should write on my resume (but any advice iwould be gladly welcomed). So far all I've put is contact information, short kind of personal profile (just stuff like highly motivated, punctual etc. no hobbies or shit), employment history (none), volunteer experience and education (completed grade 10).

arcticmonkeysfan on

• Options
    SniperGuySniperGuy SniperGuyGaming Registered User regular
    edited June 2007
    I wouldn't suggest actually putting "I don't have hobbies" on the resume. If you don't, just leave them out, and tell them you're available whenever after school/during the summer, etc. Saying you don't have hobbies makes you sound like you're boring, no offense.

SniperGuy on
  • Options
    PhilodoxPhilodox Registered User regular
    edited June 2007
    Since you have no work experience I would highly recommend you move to a skills based resume. Basically how a skills based resume works is instead of writing Work Experience and then listing what you've done at all your jobs, you have a section called skills where you list all your skills and where you acquired them.