As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Building a Canadian Computer (SOLVED Jun 30, 2007)

RhevikRhevik Registered User regular
edited July 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
It's my first time building a computer, and everything will be new because the only thing I own is a laptop. I'm using Ars Technica's Hotrod as the basis, but I'm certainly open to other ideas...

I'd like to keep the grand total close to 1800 CAD. It's definitely going to be a gaming machine, though, so I want high-quality stuff. Using NCIX, Anitec, and Memory Express (ME), this is what I've got so far:

(NOTE: see my latest post for the hardware I actually purchased.)

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 (Anitec - $259.95)

Motherboard: ASUS P5B Deluxe (Anitec - $209.96)

RAM: 2GB PC2-6400 OCZ ATI Crossfire RAM (NCIX - $119 w/ $40 rebate)

Video Card: EVGA GEFORCE 8800GTS 320MB (ME - $329.95 w/ $20 rebate)

Sound Card: X-FI Xtreme Gamer (ME - $109.95 w/ $33 rebate)

Case: Coolermaster Centurion 534 ATX (Anitec - $55.95)

Power Supply: Corsair 620W CMPSU-620HX (ME - $169.95 w/ $20 rebate)

Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB 16MB Cache (ME - $89.95)

DVD Drive: Pioneer DVR-212D (Anitec - $39.95)

Monitor: Acer AL2216 WBD (Anitec - $275.95)

Speakers: Logitech R20 2.1 Black 20W RMS (Anitec - $29.95)

OS: Microsoft Windows XP Professional OEM (Anitec $159.95)

Keyboard: Aopen Black KB-858 PS/2 (NCIX - $10)

Mouse: Microsoft Wheel USB Mouse (Anitec - $13.95)

Total (without rebates): $1874.45 (CAD)

Total after rebates: $1761.45 (CAD)

So now on to the help part. o_O

-Do I really need that much power? Ars Technica says no (suggesting a Fortron/Sparkle 450W would be more than enough), but I've read a lot of stuff in the stores' forums saying maybe yes/maybe no.