Options

SATA Drive problems

Bionic MonkeyBionic Monkey Registered User, ClubPA regular
edited July 2007 in Games and Technology
I'll try this in here too, since H/A seems to be low traffic right now.

Okay, in the long fucking line of problems my computer has developed since last night, after two fresh installations of Windows, my SATA hard drives have decided to stop working. The first drive just dropped out completely, while the second drive could be seen, but not accessed. I went and redefined the first array, and now have regular access. However, the second drive cannot be seen. I go into the Disk Management utility, and I can see the drive is there, but Windows XP says it's unallocated. I've doubled, and triple checked, the it appears to be defined right and current drivers are installed, so I'm pretty much at a loss. So, now I'm deferring to your expertise.

I should add, there are files on this drive, and if at all possible, I'd like to regain access without losing that data. I'm not adverse to a third fresh install of XP, if the problem is software related. Though I'd prefer that as a last option.

sig_megas_armed.jpg
Bionic Monkey on

Posts

  • Options
    xboxxerxboxxer Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    need ... more ... info.

    you mentioned array. Are you running a RAID?

    xboxxer on
    PSN: Entair / XBLive: White Seraph
  • Options
    Bionic MonkeyBionic Monkey Registered User, ClubPA regular
    edited July 2007
    xboxxer wrote: »
    need ... more ... info.

    you mentioned array. Are you running a RAID?

    Technically, yes, though I'm running each drive as it's own array. I couldn't find any other way to access the drives on my old motherboard without running them as stripe arrays.

    Bionic Monkey on
    sig_megas_armed.jpg
  • Options
    Bionic MonkeyBionic Monkey Registered User, ClubPA regular
    edited July 2007
    So, no suggestions at all then?

    Bionic Monkey on
    sig_megas_armed.jpg
  • Options
    RookRook Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    I'd think about some sort of data retrieval tool and then just reformat the drive. It's probably not the most elegant solution. R-studio usually helps me out in these kinds of situations.

    Rook on
  • Options
    KoekjesKoekjes Registered User regular
    edited July 2007
    The way your drives are set-up in BIOS may be the problem. Stripped array (aka RAID 0) are ment to be 2 drives acting as 1. For it to work best both drives need to be the same size. If they are not the smaller drive will be the basis for both and some of the room on the bigger drive will be unusable.

    You can try setting up your drives as JBOD (aka Just a Bunch Of Disks). In this setting each drive will be seen as an individual drive. The first level of set-up for this is in BIOS. Check your motherboard manual for the details. If you don't have the manual most manufacturers put them in pdf format on the web.

    Koekjes on
Sign In or Register to comment.