As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

The Future: Hazy

LewishamLewisham Registered User regular
edited July 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
I've been really down about this for the last couple of days, so here goes.

I'm British and 23 years old. I went to California a couple of years ago as part of my degree. I met my current partner there, and we did a long-distance relationship for a year. It was very hard, but it was successful. After I graduated, we came to New Zealand as we were both able to enter the country with a suitable permit. She is doing a Masters, and I am working.

Her Masters ends in March. She's currently in CA doing research, and she has found out just how much she misses it (not that she didn't before). She wants to leave NZ as soon as she can.

I cannot go to CA because I do not qualify for any work permits at all, despite a Masters degree in Computer Science. The current immigration climate in the US makes it essentially impossible.

I am trying to get on a PhD program. I want to do CS research, in CA, and I can be funded in the US, so it makes perfect sense to apply. The program comes with a visa about as guaranteed as they can be, and I was a good citizen last time, and have been wherever I have lived.

Over the weekend, I became deadly scared that I was not going to get on a program because the Computer Science subject test looks obscenely hard. There are no revision materials I can buy for it, so I don't even feel like I can properly study for it. This is the first time I've truly believed I have less than a 50:50 shot, and it really hit home to me that we're yet again going to be in a position where I don't have the eligibility to be with her. I can't do a long distance relationship again, and I can't stand to lose her either.