Options

Summer Heights High

ProhassProhass Registered User regular
edited October 2007 in Social Entropy++
Any Australians who've been watching this, absolutely brilliant show. Chris Lilley is a fucking master of observation, and SHH is even better than We Can Be Heroes. I think what really gets me with SHH is that the entire school, especially the extras and backup characters are so pitch perfect, having only left school recently, I love this show for the nostalgia alone, god knows how he captured Australian public schools so well.

Out of the 3 characters Lilley plays Jonah is by far my favourite. A lot of people have accused Lilley of being racist with his portrayal of Jonah, but as a recent student myself, I can see its not really a parody of the "Islander Bully" kid, its a goddamn homage, its so perfect, it overlaps with kids I knew in school, he makes them amiable with his brutally honest depiction. His other characters are a bit over the top, but equally as brilliant.

Trailer

Jonah Takalua

Also I don't know whether this should be in D&D as it has caused some controversy which could be argued.

Prohass on

• Options
    Tweaked_Bat_Tweaked_Bat_ Registered User regular
    edited September 2007
    I have... not heard of this.

After lunch I will read / watch.

Tweaked_Bat_ on
  • Options
    FAQFAQ Registered User regular
    edited September 2007
    I don't care for "Australians"

FAQ on
  • Options
    AbracadanielAbracadaniel Registered User regular
    edited September 2007
    go back to your continent, prisoner

Abracadaniel on
  • Options
    edited September 2007
    Call that a Knife etc

Prohass on
  • Options
    HybridHybrid South AustraliaRegistered User regular
    edited September 2007
    I saw the first ep of this last week and I actually enjoyed it a bit (I got bored of We Can Be Heroes by the end of it). Although I did miss last nights episode.