As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

So... I want to make songs on my computer.

LifeVirusZEROLifeVirusZERO Registered User regular
edited September 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
I'm a big pianist/keyboardist but recently I've had the desire to make my own songs on my comp. What I need to know is:
-What kind of software I need.
-What kind of keyboard I should buy and what inputs/outputs I should be looking for. I'm guessing people don't still use MIDI keyboards anymore. (That was a joke... get it? Ok it was pretty bad)
-And anything else I should know about this process.

I want something easier than opening up fruity loops and making songs completely using the piano roll, if you know what i mean. I hate doing that.

6ltl5i0ap7.png
LifeVirusZERO on

• Options
    OrganichuOrganichu poops peesRegistered User, Moderator mod
    edited September 2007
    Depending upon how amazing you want the quality to be, you could just plug straight from your lineout/headphones jack into your soundcard with a $5 jack-minijack converter.

This will work with simple lines, but sequences with muddier chords might come out too crappy for you. You could give it a try, though. It's cheap. Again, though, a generic soundcard won't satisfy you if you're an audiophile.

Organichu on
  • Options
    EggyToastEggyToast Jersey CityRegistered User regular
    edited September 2007
    The basic steps are to buy a midi keyboard (they almost all have USB ports on them now, so no need for weird adapters or extra hardware), buy some sequencing/recording software, and pipe the midi you record to a virtual instrument that either is creating synth sounds or sampled sounds.