As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Wireless Router + Laptop = Problem

RaggaholicRaggaholic Registered User regular
edited September 2007 in Help / Advice Forum
Ok, I'm having trouble connecting to my home network with my laptop. As of, say last week, everything was fine. I wiped the hard drive and reinstalled Windows (wanted to get all of the factory stuff off the comp, as well as get rid of the 10GB restore partition). Now, I can't seem to connect wirelessly to my home network.

1) I have a Linksys wireless router
2) I have changed some settings over the past week for emule, but just port forwarding and firewall.
3) Router has DHCP enabled
3) My wireless NIC seems to be working fine via the control panel
4) When I check my laptop IP address, its not a 192.168.X.X address like everything else on the network
5) Can log on to other wireless routers just fine and use the internet
6) I can "connect" to my router, but can't access any of the other computers or printer on the network
7) All of the computers are part of the same network.

Can anyone think of what the problem is here?

Raggaholic on

Posts

  • Options
    brandotheninjamasterbrandotheninjamaster Registered User regular
    edited September 2007
    What ports do you have open on your firewall? You need at least 80 (HTTP), 443 (HTTPS), 53 (DNS) for web surfing. Also 546 for DHCP (not so sure about that one)

    Also what IP address does your laptop have? If it is 169.254.xxx.xxx then your lappie can't contact your dhcp server to get its ip address to begin with.

    brandotheninjamaster on
  • Options
    RaggaholicRaggaholic Registered User regular
    edited September 2007
    I have the firewall in my router and Windows turned off. Also, I do have the 169.254.X.X ip address. I only get a 192.168.X.X ip address on the laptop when I connect to the network through the lan. Why isn't it connecting to the DHCP if it shows (in Windows) that it has connected to the router?

    Also, my DSL is currently down because the DSL modem died (waiting for a new one off ebay). I've read that this can also lead to problems, but would that stop my laptop from normally being able to connect to the router/network to use things like the printer and see the other computers?

    Raggaholic on
  • Options
    brandotheninjamasterbrandotheninjamaster Registered User regular
    edited September 2007
    Since the modem has gone down, has the computer it is hooked to been rebooted?

    brandotheninjamaster on
  • Options
    Fuzzy Cumulonimbus CloudFuzzy Cumulonimbus Cloud Registered User regular
    edited September 2007
    Check your SSID and all that stuff too.
    I put up all this security on my network thinking I would never need to get into it again.
    Then, I had to add a new pc.
    It was a pain in the ass.
    Check your MAC adress, IP, SSID and make sure they are all correlating correctly.

    Fuzzy Cumulonimbus Cloud on
  • Options
    RaggaholicRaggaholic Registered User regular
    edited September 2007
    Since the modem has gone down, has the computer it is hooked to been rebooted?
    The modem isn't hooked directly to any comp. It feeds right into the router. The router has been rebooted since then, although it hasn't been reset.

    Raggaholic on
Sign In or Register to comment.