As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

OS to run

spacerat100spacerat100 Registered User regular
edited December 2007 in Games and Technology
so I'm a giant nerd. I just blew enough money on a gaming system to buy a small army of thai hookers. What OS should I run on it?


basic stats:

CORSAIR XMS3 DHX 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9650 Yorkfield 3.0GHz LGA 775 130W Processor Model BX80569QX9650 - Retail
BFG Tech BFGR88768GTXOCE GeForce 8800GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail

spacerat100 on

Posts

  • Options
    ImpersonatorImpersonator Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    Needs more numbers

    Impersonator on
  • Options
    LoveIsUnityLoveIsUnity Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    What are you going to do with your computer? I am assuming you will be gaming, but what types of games do you plan on playing? Also, despite all the numbers, I didn't see any mention of a hard drive (or I just missed it the two times I read through the specs). How large is your hard drive?

    LoveIsUnity on
    steam_sig.png
  • Options
    spacerat100spacerat100 Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    Needs more numbers


    umm like? thats teh mobo if that helps?

    GIGABYTE GA-X38T-DQ6 LGA 775 Intel X38 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail


    i was thinking vista cuz thats becoming required but i can put XP on it and upgrade later

    spacerat100 on
  • Options
    spacerat100spacerat100 Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    What are you going to do with your computer? I am assuming you will be gaming, but what types of games do you plan on playing? Also, despite all the numbers, I didn't see any mention of a hard drive (or I just missed it the two times I read through the specs). How large is your hard drive?

    OS drive:

    Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3250410AS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
    gaming drive:

    Western Digital Caviar SE WD5000AAJS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

    spacerat100 on
  • Options
    FyreWulffFyreWulff YouRegistered User, ClubPA regular
    edited December 2007
    Set it up for a triple boot. Make at least 3 seperate partitions then install

    XP
    Vista
    Ubuntu

    FyreWulff on
  • Options
    ChewyWafflesChewyWaffles Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    XP is all you need
    Unless you need to run some games on Vista

    ChewyWaffles on
    mwf2sig.jpg
  • Options
    spacerat100spacerat100 Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    XP is all you need
    Unless you need to run some games on Vista

    is there really that many games vista only? I've been doing the whole war thing the last year and a half so I dont' really know of any. i know lost planet has a DX 10 mode but thats about it

    spacerat100 on
  • Options
    SilvoculousSilvoculous Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    i was thinking vista cuz thats becoming required

    For what, games? No, not at this point.

    Seeing as you needed to ask which OS to run, a Linux probably isn't out of the question. Everyone likes Ubuntu as it becomes more "mainstream" but I personally like Mandriva myself. Install XP first, then throw whatever Linux on afterwards and install GRUB.

    Silvoculous on
  • Options
    AhhseeAhhsee Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    I'd say go with the general notion of installing XP.

    It won't steer you wrong, and will last you until you must have a game that will only run on vista (are there even any yet?). Besides that, isn't XP pretty cheap right now?

    Ahhsee on
    newsigji1.jpg
    Click image for my huge backlog :\\\
  • Options
    ChewyWafflesChewyWaffles Registered User regular
    edited December 2007
    XP is all you need
    Unless you need to run some games on Vista

    is there really that many games vista only? I've been doing the whole war thing the last year and a half so I dont' really know of any. i know lost planet has a DX 10 mode but thats about it

    Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think Halo 2 requires Vista, although I thought I heard rumors of a hack that allows it to be played on XP.

    ChewyWaffles on
    mwf2sig.jpg
Sign In or Register to comment.