As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

[SOLVED] Xandros and Firefox- my backspace key no worky

WillethWilleth Registered User regular
edited January 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
Hey guys, what should be a very quick fix but I can't for the life of me figure it out.

I just bought an eee PC, which runs a customised version of Xandros, and it's pre-installed with Firefox. It's all gravy, except that the backspace key isn't hotkeyed to 'back' - it's page up for some reason.

Does anyone know a solution?

@vgreminders - Don't miss out on timed events in gaming!
@gamefacts - Totally and utterly true gaming facts on the regular!
Willeth on

Posts

  • OrganichuOrganichu poops peesRegistered User, Moderator mod
    edited January 2008
    Hey, I'm not sure how to configure that towards using backspace, but if it's any consolation that's the standard for the eee, I believe. It's not a defect or anything. Asus configured the laptop to utilize pgup as the back a page command in Firefox.

    Organichu on
  • WillethWilleth Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Any reason why they'd have done that? There's already a PgUp on Fn+Up, and now there's no back hotkey.

    Willeth on
    @vgreminders - Don't miss out on timed events in gaming!
    @gamefacts - Totally and utterly true gaming facts on the regular!
  • OrganichuOrganichu poops peesRegistered User, Moderator mod
    edited January 2008
    No clue. I read about it on a eee forum, but there was no accompanying explanation.

    Organichu on
  • seasleepyseasleepy Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Actually, I think the backspace = pgup is the default for Firefox on Linux in general (for some reason).

    Luckily it's relatively easy to change (assuming you know where to look):
    1) Type "about:config" in the location bar on Firefox.
    2) Type "backspace" in the filter.
    3) Set the value to "0" (the number zero).

    That's it, no restart necessary!

    seasleepy on
    Steam | Nintendo: seasleepy | PSN: seasleepy1
  • WillethWilleth Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Oh, that's brilliant. All working, thanks!

    Willeth on
    @vgreminders - Don't miss out on timed events in gaming!
    @gamefacts - Totally and utterly true gaming facts on the regular!
This discussion has been closed.