As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

TF2 Keeps crashing...

Shiekahn_boyShiekahn_boy Registered User regular
Yeah, it's says at the top left I have low OS pool memory. Pisses me off. It just started to screw up. Now it wont even get past the Trademark. I tried to View my PF Usage while loading it and it didn't really change. When it crashes though, the usage is at 1160 MB and the pc will crash. I have 1024 MB of RAM and am running on a GeForce 7300 GS. Right now it is saying im at 422 MB(was in DXDIAG). I have no clue what is going on. Now it shows no sighns of overusage and just crashes... What the hell? I'm going to try and reinstall TF2 again. This is really starting to get annoying.

"your a moron you know that wolves have packs wich they rely on nd they could ever here of lone wolves? you an idiot and your gay, wolves have packs and are smart with tactics" - Youtube Wolf Enthusiast.
What the fuck are you people even arguing about? Shut up.
Shiekahn_boy on

Posts

  • Shiekahn_boyShiekahn_boy Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    OK, the Re-install didn't work. Maby AVG is getting in the way? I don't have it running at all. It just keeps on crashing when I'm trying to load it.

    Shiekahn_boy on
    "your a moron you know that wolves have packs wich they rely on nd they could ever here of lone wolves? you an idiot and your gay, wolves have packs and are smart with tactics" - Youtube Wolf Enthusiast.
    What the fuck are you people even arguing about? Shut up.
  • DrijenDrijen Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    What are you running as far as the rest of the computer? A 7300 should be able to handle the game one way or another. Also, what sort of settings are you attempting to play the game on in the first place?

    From what you described it sounds as if you have successfully played in the past but nonetheless it is important to make sure you are running all the latest/most stable drivers for your hardware. It always helps to be running current in any case and it may just have an effect on your problem on top of that.

    Another possible issue is whatever else you are running in the backround while you attempt to play the game. If you think that background software might be a problem it is worth it to check this out. In short it acts as a replacement to the taskmanager and provides more indepth information as to what program is taking up exactly what amount of RAM etc.

    Hope this gives you some options to move forward.

    Drijen on
  • Shiekahn_boyShiekahn_boy Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    I can run really any game, it's just TF2 that screw up.
    I already downloaded that software, ill see if i can find it again.

    Shiekahn_boy on
    "your a moron you know that wolves have packs wich they rely on nd they could ever here of lone wolves? you an idiot and your gay, wolves have packs and are smart with tactics" - Youtube Wolf Enthusiast.
    What the fuck are you people even arguing about? Shut up.
  • DrijenDrijen Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Can you run other Hl2 engine based games without issue? And again, what settings do you have TF2 booting into? Setting that shit way up top when the box can't deal with it could cause issues; but again your particular problem doesn't seem to match those expectations.


    It is hard to attempt a fix without a more complete idea of what/how your computer operates when attempting the game.

    Drijen on
  • Shiekahn_boyShiekahn_boy Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Operating System: Microsoft Windows XP Prfessional (5.1, Build 2600)
    System Manutacturer: Custom
    System Model: Custom
    BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v.6.00pg
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.06GHz (2 CPUs)
    Memory: 1024MB RAM
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c

    Was Under the System Tab in DXDIAG

    Portal Never Crashed when I loaded it.

    Shiekahn_boy on
    "your a moron you know that wolves have packs wich they rely on nd they could ever here of lone wolves? you an idiot and your gay, wolves have packs and are smart with tactics" - Youtube Wolf Enthusiast.
    What the fuck are you people even arguing about? Shut up.
  • DrijenDrijen Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    That is pretty freaky. A gig of RAM and a P4 3.06 shoud not experiance any blatent crashes like that. I know some people have seen some odd behavior with certain sound card makes and drivers but I really know nothing about that. If other games are still playing as normal I would thing this is either something unique stemming from your particular soft/hardware loadout or something involving your steam install or tf2 install, perhaps related to HD death?

    It is pretty hard to say what is up without either a more detailed error report or specific "screenshot" of computer state on loadup.

    Drijen on
  • Shiekahn_boyShiekahn_boy Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    IS there anyway i can access the option by NOT going into the game?

    When i look in it the only thing that takes up a sum of memory is SVC hosts.

    Shiekahn_boy on
    "your a moron you know that wolves have packs wich they rely on nd they could ever here of lone wolves? you an idiot and your gay, wolves have packs and are smart with tactics" - Youtube Wolf Enthusiast.
    What the fuck are you people even arguing about? Shut up.
  • tsmvengytsmvengy Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    AVG is known to cause this problem with Source games. And you have to completely uninstall AVG to fix it - so I would consider switching to another antivirus. Avast maybe?

    tsmvengy on
    steam_sig.png
  • Shiekahn_boyShiekahn_boy Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Ok. i'll un-install AVG

    Shiekahn_boy on
    "your a moron you know that wolves have packs wich they rely on nd they could ever here of lone wolves? you an idiot and your gay, wolves have packs and are smart with tactics" - Youtube Wolf Enthusiast.
    What the fuck are you people even arguing about? Shut up.
  • Shiekahn_boyShiekahn_boy Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Alright, i fully uninstalled AVG and still it will not run. The Screen will just turn white and log itself out. Its at a high resolution and dosn't fit well on the screen. IT goes over it. Maby thats what makes it crash?

    Shiekahn_boy on
    "your a moron you know that wolves have packs wich they rely on nd they could ever here of lone wolves? you an idiot and your gay, wolves have packs and are smart with tactics" - Youtube Wolf Enthusiast.
    What the fuck are you people even arguing about? Shut up.
  • PeewiPeewi Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    I got that error too and I fixed it by increasing the amount of the OS paged pool memory.

    Peewi on
  • Shiekahn_boyShiekahn_boy Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    OK, how do i do that?

    Shiekahn_boy on
    "your a moron you know that wolves have packs wich they rely on nd they could ever here of lone wolves? you an idiot and your gay, wolves have packs and are smart with tactics" - Youtube Wolf Enthusiast.
    What the fuck are you people even arguing about? Shut up.
  • Shiekahn_boyShiekahn_boy Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    OK, I keep on trying to play the Game and it still keeps on going to the Logo Trademark for Valve (fat guys head with a valve on it) and plays half of it in the window. Then the whole inside will turn white, No response, then exit out without no damn message. This is beggining to be really irritating. I played Halflife two Deathmatch for awile.. Then it kicked me strait out after a few matches. Thats utter bullshit. My Taksmanager dosn't show any change when I load TF2 just a small one in the PF usage.

    Shiekahn_boy on
    "your a moron you know that wolves have packs wich they rely on nd they could ever here of lone wolves? you an idiot and your gay, wolves have packs and are smart with tactics" - Youtube Wolf Enthusiast.
    What the fuck are you people even arguing about? Shut up.
Sign In or Register to comment.