As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Assassin's Creed PC Requirements Will Kill You

HadjiQuestHadjiQuest Registered User regular
edited January 2008 in Games and Technology
Why did I start this thread? Because this shit is bananas.

B-A-N-A-N-A-S.

Seriously.

MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS

Assassin's Creed

Processor: Dual core processor 2.6 GHz Intel Pentium D or AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+
RAM: 2 GB
Video Card: 256 MB DirectX 10.0-compliant video card or DirectX 9.0-compliant card with Shader Model 3.0 or higher
Sound Card: DirectX 9.0 or 10.0 compliant sound card
HDD Space: 12GB
DirectX Version: DirectX 10.0

RECOMMENDED REQUIREMENTS

Assassin's Creed

Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.2 GHz or AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ or better
RAM: 3GB
Video Card: 512 MB Card
Sound Card: 5.1 Sound Card
HDD Space: 12GB
DirectX Version: DirectX 10.0

Those requirements kick Crysis's ass. This PC I just built in October barely meets the minimum requirements (and by barely, I mean exactly word-for-word).

What the fuck is wrong with developers? Particularly Ubisoft. Why have they been so poor at optimizing their games when it comes time for a PC port? They pulled this shit with the last Splinter Cell and Rainbow Six games as well.

Are they trying to help kill PC gaming? Have other devs been doing this too?

Or am I just some crazy dude, and it's time for me to finally breakdown and buy a PS3 or a 360?

HadjiQuest on
«134

Posts

  • JorilJoril BelgiumRegistered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Well, I certainly won't be buying this game.

    Joril on
    bonesnacksig.jpg
  • ZzuluZzulu Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    I meet the requirements, but I heard the game wasn't all that anyway so, meh.

    Zzulu on
    t5qfc9.jpg
  • AldoAldo Hippo Hooray Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    I already feared AC would be a poor console port, these system requirements just seal the deal.

    I bet you a cookie that the tutorial will mention "press O and X to block an attack".

    Aldo on
  • HadjiQuestHadjiQuest Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Aldo wrote: »
    I already feared AC would be a poor console port, these system requirements just seal the deal.

    I bet you a cookie that the tutorial will mention "press O and X to block an attack".

    Deal.
    Everyone knows that PC ports come from Xboxes, not Playstations!

    HadjiQuest on
  • AldoAldo Hippo Hooray Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    HadjiQuest wrote: »
    Deal.
    Everyone knows that PC ports come from Xboxes, not Playstations!
    There's not even an O and X button on the Xbox, huh?

    I walked right into that one.

    Aldo on
  • MichaelLCMichaelLC In what furnace was thy brain? ChicagoRegistered User regular
    edited January 2008
    HadjiQuest wrote: »
    Aldo wrote: »
    I already feared AC would be a poor console port, these system requirements just seal the deal.

    I bet you a cookie that the tutorial will mention "press O and X to block an attack".

    Deal.
    Everyone knows that PC ports come from Xboxes, not Playstations!

    Why is that a problem? Keyboards have "X"s and "O"s.

    I've been out of the PC parts market for awhile. What would those specs run you these days?

    MichaelLC on
  • AldoAldo Hippo Hooray Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    MichaelLC wrote: »
    Why is that a problem? Keyboards have "X"s and "O"s.

    I've been out of the PC parts market for awhile. What would those specs run you these days?
    Let's just say you can buy multiple Xboxes for it.

    Aldo on
  • RookRook Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Ubisoft are really the last holdout in terrible PC ports from a major publisher. Even capcom managed to do a good job on Lost Planet, and from what they've said, DMC4 looks like it'll work out ok on the PC too (something about PC actually being lead platform?!? )

    I kinda wonder how Far Cry 2 will turn out. :(

    Rook on
  • RookRook Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Aldo wrote: »
    MichaelLC wrote: »
    Why is that a problem? Keyboards have "X"s and "O"s.

    I've been out of the PC parts market for awhile. What would those specs run you these days?
    Let's just say you can buy multiple Xboxes for it.

    Actually, you're probably looking at an Xbox and a half, at most.

    Rook on
  • AldoAldo Hippo Hooray Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Rook wrote: »
    Actually, you're probably looking at an Xbox and a half, at most.
    I stand corrected.

    Still, sweet jesus there's no reason why a game with graphics like AC would require a system like that. No /good/ reason, at least.

    Aldo on
  • Dublo7Dublo7 Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    I've pretty much lost all interest in playing this game. Not to mention, Ubisoft do some horrible PC ports.

    Dublo7 on
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • ArasakiArasaki Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Rook wrote: »
    Aldo wrote: »
    MichaelLC wrote: »
    Why is that a problem? Keyboards have "X"s and "O"s.

    I've been out of the PC parts market for awhile. What would those specs run you these days?
    Let's just say you can buy multiple Xboxes for it.

    Actually, you're probably looking at an Xbox and a half, at most.

    I'm pretty sure that the CPU, RAM and graphics card alone would set you back more than £450. I am of course assuming that you get decent RAM, rather than the £13.99 per gb stuff.

    Edit: Ok, I'm probably wrong. Lower end RAM got cheap as chips, it seems. Still, £450 seems cheap.

    Arasaki on
  • HamjuHamju Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    booooooooo I was looking forward to at least trying this game out on the PC, but if I even try to install that on my machine I guarantee a giant window that says, "WHAT THE FUCK WERE YOU THINKING?!" is gonna pop up and then my computer will kick me in the nuts. I just know it.

    Hamju on
    kekekesigshortercuzthinsacunt.jpg
  • RizziRizzi Sydney, Australia.Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    And the pc I'm getting in a few weeks will kill it in return. Still, Ubisoft and pc = D:

    Rizzi on
  • FencingsaxFencingsax It is difficult to get a man to understand, when his salary depends upon his not understanding GNU Terry PratchettRegistered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Hamju wrote: »
    booooooooo I was looking forward to at least trying this game out on the PC, but if I even try to install that on my machine I guarantee a giant window that says, "WHAT THE FUCK WERE YOU THINKING?!" is gonna pop up and then my computer will kick me in the nuts. I just know it.
    Right in the Mean Bean Machine!

    Fencingsax on
  • Bill NyeBill Nye Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    I used to whine and bitch about specs as well, before I had an adult job.

    If your computer can't hang with the specs, at least you have other options.

    I will cry when my computer is outdated and when a 6400 and an 8800 just don't meet the demand. But hey, its only like $700 every two years. $2/day to stay right on top of the pc world.

    Bill Nye on
  • Operative21Operative21 Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    I might have been able to play the game on the minimum requirements but that DX10 requirement pretty much negates any chances of that. There's no way in hell I'm shelling out a considerable wad of cash for Vista and a DX10 compliant card to play one game. Suffice to say I'm greatly saddened by the requirements as I was looking forward to giving AC a try.

    Operative21 on
  • HadjiQuestHadjiQuest Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    The big gripe here is that if you built/bought a computer before early 2007, there's a decent chance you won't be able to run this game at all.

    Edit: And also that you need vista to play it.

    HadjiQuest on
  • RookRook Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Arasaki wrote: »
    Rook wrote: »
    Aldo wrote: »
    MichaelLC wrote: »
    Why is that a problem? Keyboards have "X"s and "O"s.

    I've been out of the PC parts market for awhile. What would those specs run you these days?
    Let's just say you can buy multiple Xboxes for it.

    Actually, you're probably looking at an Xbox and a half, at most.

    I'm pretty sure that the CPU, RAM and graphics card alone would set you back more than £450. I am of course assuming that you get decent RAM, rather than the £13.99 per gb stuff.

    Edit: Ok, I'm probably wrong. Lower end RAM got cheap as chips, it seems. Still, £450 seems cheap.

    PCs are pretty cheap these days, I went to newegg and put together a fairly decent PC that hit the recommended specs, with an ATI RADEONHD 3870 for under $600.

    LiteonDVD
    GIGABYTE GA-M61SME-S2 AM2
    Seagate Barracuda 160GB
    GIGABYTE Radeon HD 3870 512MB
    A-DATA 1GB DDR2 800 (x3)
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+
    APEVIA X-QPACK-NW-BK/420

    No OS though, which kinda puts it over. But then again I didn't include the cost of Live either :)

    Rook on
  • RookRook Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    I might have been able to play the game on the minimum requirements but that DX10 requirement pretty much negates any chances of that. There's no way in hell I'm shelling out a considerable wad of cash for Vista and a DX10 compliant card to play one game. Suffice to say I'm greatly saddened by the requirements as I was looking forward to giving AC a try.

    That's actually part of a weird and insidious trend. The recent interview with the Alan Wake guys basically said "you should consider this title Vista exclusive".

    Rook on
  • OlivawOlivaw good name, isn't it? the foot of mt fujiRegistered User regular
    edited January 2008
    God damn it I was looking forward to playing this

    But my old gaming rig which I've had for some years now is only a single core processor

    Everything else I think it could handle

    Oh wait, except for DX10

    Man, fuck this game

    Olivaw on
    signature-deffo.jpg
    PSN ID : DetectiveOlivaw | TWITTER | STEAM ID | NEVER FORGET
  • ArasakiArasaki Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Rook wrote: »
    Arasaki wrote: »
    Rook wrote: »
    Aldo wrote: »
    MichaelLC wrote: »
    Why is that a problem? Keyboards have "X"s and "O"s.

    I've been out of the PC parts market for awhile. What would those specs run you these days?
    Let's just say you can buy multiple Xboxes for it.

    Actually, you're probably looking at an Xbox and a half, at most.

    I'm pretty sure that the CPU, RAM and graphics card alone would set you back more than £450. I am of course assuming that you get decent RAM, rather than the £13.99 per gb stuff.

    Edit: Ok, I'm probably wrong. Lower end RAM got cheap as chips, it seems. Still, £450 seems cheap.

    PCs are pretty cheap these days, I went to newegg and put together a fairly decent PC that hit the recommended specs, with an ATI RADEONHD 3870 for under $600.

    LiteonDVD
    GIGABYTE GA-M61SME-S2 AM2
    Seagate Barracuda 160GB
    GIGABYTE Radeon HD 3870 512MB
    A-DATA 1GB DDR2 800 (x3)
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+
    APEVIA X-QPACK-NW-BK/420

    No OS though, which kinda puts it over. But then again I didn't include the cost of Live either :)

    I always go for the latest parts, so I can be all "ooooh, shiny". Of course, it's kind of a waste due to the retarded amount of dust that exists in my house. Next project is a water-cooled system. :>

    It probably doesn't help that I buy a new case and monitor every time either.

    Arasaki on
  • AldoAldo Hippo Hooray Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Rook wrote: »
    PCs are pretty cheap these days, I went to newegg and put together a fairly decent PC that hit the recommended specs, with an ATI RADEONHD 3870 for under $600.

    LiteonDVD
    GIGABYTE GA-M61SME-S2 AM2
    Seagate Barracuda 160GB
    GIGABYTE Radeon HD 3870 512MB
    A-DATA 1GB DDR2 800 (x3)
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+
    APEVIA X-QPACK-NW-BK/420

    No OS though, which kinda puts it over. But then again I didn't include the cost of Live either :)
    You don't need Live to play singleplayer games, right?

    Aldo on
  • harvestharvest By birthright, a stupendous badass.Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Vista only huh. Guess I won't be getting it.

    harvest on
    B6yM5w2.gif
  • DeusfauxDeusfaux Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    The only thing that truly sucks about those specs is the required Windows Vista?

    Halo 2 was bullshit enough... but now this too?

    Deusfaux on
  • FencingsaxFencingsax It is difficult to get a man to understand, when his salary depends upon his not understanding GNU Terry PratchettRegistered User regular
    edited January 2008
    I'm guessing every PC port from the 360 will be Vista exclusive.

    Fencingsax on
  • Blake TBlake T Do you have enemies then? Good. That means you’ve stood up for something, sometime in your life.Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    I'm good.:^:

    Blake T on
  • HadjiQuestHadjiQuest Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    I think Vista's going to be required for most games pretty soon.

    The particle effects, post processing, and other crazy stuff that DX10 handles is being used more and more, so it seems like a given that more and more games will be requiring DX10 out the door.

    Sucks that MS is a gaggle of pricks and won't release it for XP, though.

    HadjiQuest on
  • LewiePLewieP Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Fencingsax wrote: »
    I'm guessing every PC port from the 360 will be Vista exclusive.

    Not in the slightest, it is totally up to the publisher/dev.

    Although I expect Microsoft is moneyhatting people into making games Vista exclusive.

    Hopefully someone will make a patch for XP compatibilty just like Halo 2, Shadowrun and various other 'Vista Exclusives'

    Not that my PC will run it...

    LewieP on
  • TavTav Irish Minister for DefenceRegistered User regular
    edited January 2008
    I've seen AC and It shouldn't need those specs. This port is going to be complete bullshit.

    Tav on
  • Blake TBlake T Do you have enemies then? Good. That means you’ve stood up for something, sometime in your life.Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    AC is running this strong purely because Ubisoft are lazy as and can never be bothered doing a decent PC port.

    Blake T on
  • TavTav Irish Minister for DefenceRegistered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Blaket wrote: »
    AC is running this strong purely because Ubisoft are lazy as and can never be bothered doing a decent PC port.

    RE4 was a disgrace.

    Tav on
  • ApostateApostate Prince SpaceRegistered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Tav wrote: »
    I've seen AC and It shouldn't need those specs. This port is going to be complete bullshit.

    Maybe they are actually beiing honest for a change. Half the listed "minimum" specs on PC games are garbage anyway. I know I usually only pay attention to the recommended ones as the actual minimum.

    Apostate on
  • AldoAldo Hippo Hooray Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Apostate wrote: »
    Maybe they are actually beiing honest for a change. Half the listed "minimum" specs on PC games are garbage anyway. I know I usually only pay attention to the recommended ones as the actual minimum.
    Then what are the recommended specs supposed to tell us for this game? Max specs? :P

    Aldo on
  • LewiePLewieP Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Apostate wrote: »
    Tav wrote: »
    I've seen AC and It shouldn't need those specs. This port is going to be complete bullshit.

    Maybe they are actually beiing honest for a change. Half the listed "minimum" specs on PC games are garbage anyway. I know I usually only pay attention to the recommended ones as the actual minimum.

    That is naively optimistic

    LewieP on
  • TwistedJesterTwistedJester Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    I really hope that other 360/PS3 to PC ports aren't this horribly optimized that they require alien technology. I really want to play Mercs 2 on my PC.

    TwistedJester on
  • OlivawOlivaw good name, isn't it? the foot of mt fujiRegistered User regular
    edited January 2008
    I really hope that other 360/PS3 to PC ports aren't this horribly optimized that they require alien technology. I really want to play Mercs 2 on my PC.

    Seriously, I was looking forward to playing these games on my PC but if I have to have Vista and a high quality gaming rig and a fucking dual core processor just to play them well then I am going to be super disappointed

    Olivaw on
    signature-deffo.jpg
    PSN ID : DetectiveOlivaw | TWITTER | STEAM ID | NEVER FORGET
  • VeeveeVeevee WisconsinRegistered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Blaket wrote: »
    I'm good.:^:

    As am I, but then I've already played and beat the game a month ago.

    Veevee on
  • The_ScarabThe_Scarab Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Tav wrote: »
    Blaket wrote: »
    AC is running this strong purely because Ubisoft are lazy as and can never be bothered doing a decent PC port.

    RE4 was a disgrace.

    RE4 was a Pc game without Mouse support.

    I think that is the first PC game Ive played for literally 15 years without mouse support.

    The_Scarab on
  • MeizMeiz Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    Rook wrote: »
    Ubisoft are really the last holdout in terrible PC ports from a major publisher. Even capcom managed to do a good job on Lost Planet, and from what they've said, DMC4 looks like it'll work out ok on the PC too (something about PC actually being lead platform?!? )

    I kinda wonder how Far Cry 2 will turn out. :(

    Not surprising since their little experiment with steam is showing them the true potential of pc ports.

    Meiz on
Sign In or Register to comment.