As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Can I pass tax costs onto my clients?

powersspowerss Registered User regular
edited January 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
So, I was wondering about a way to stop taxes from biting me in the ass at the end of the year.

Is it LEGAL (not MORAL) to pass my tax costs onto my clients? I'm a web designer/developer (small projects) typically between $1,500-$8,000 a project. I'm also a 20 year old college student who likes to spend money. I also hate taxes.

I noticed and have seen that many large companies, particularly phone companies, pass additional taxes or legislation onto their customers in the form of "Federal Government Recovery Fees" at the end of their bill.

Could I invoice a customer and include a line for say, 15% and call it a "Federal Government Recovery Fee" - and have it as non-taxable income and put it toward my taxes at the end of the year?

If I can't, why?

powerss on

• Options
    DocDoc Registered User, ClubPA regular
    edited January 2008
    If I asked a web designer to build me a webpage for $100, and he gave me a bill for $115 without negotiating that price with me beforehand, I'd laugh and write him a check for $100.

Why not just charge 15% more up front? That would accomplish the same thing.

Doc on
  • Options
    JHunzJHunz Registered User regular
    edited January 2008
    powerss wrote: »
    So, I was wondering about a way to stop taxes from biting me in the ass at the end of the year.

Is it LEGAL (not MORAL) to pass my tax costs onto my clients? I'm a web designer/developer (small projects) typically between $1,500-$8,000 a project. I'm also a 20 year old college student who likes to spend money. I also hate taxes.