As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Calculus, what the fuck? (Studying too) FINAL UPDATE

urahonkyurahonky Registered User regular
edited March 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
So I've somehow managed to climb the math ladder to Calculus II (in college) and I just can't seem to grasp really anything. The instructor (as are all math instructors at this fucking university) is completely useless to me. I can't understand a damn word he is saying, and he writes just fast enough to where I have to keep up with him in my notes, and I can't pay attention to what he's doing or saying.

I just got back my second exam, and it was a fucking 38 out of 100 (Lowest grade in the class, I'm sure) and everyone around me got about a 90+ on it. So obviously I'm doing something wrong. I studied about 5-6 hours on Monday, and then another 3 hours on Tuesday then went in and took the test. I felt pretty indifferent about it, but I never expected to get such a low score.

Now here's my problem. I know some of you guys are smart as hell, and I was wondering: HOW THE HELL DO YOU STUDY FOR MATH?! I lack absolute studying skills. I never had to study for any of my other exams in other classes up until this class (I'm in my Junior year now). Apparently what I was doing was completely wrong.

(I'm sorry if this isn't entirely coherent, as I'm still pretty pissed off at myself.)

Do you guys have any study tips at all? I'm so lost in the material I can't seem to shake the feeling that I'm going to get an F in this class and bring down my GPA. Please help. :(