Options

Switching to Mac... Considerations?

stratslingerstratslinger Registered User regular
Well, my wife and I have decided that it's finally come time to put one or more of our PC's to rest. Rather than just line up and get (or build) another PC, we're very strongly considering a MAC. Probably an iMac, but I wouldn't completely rule out a MacBook. This is kind of a big leap for me - I'm a professional Windows/Citrix admin by trade - I know my PC's and Windows inside and out, and know close to nothing about the Mac.

So - what's important to look at? We'll probably be picking up Office 2008 for Mac at her college library, so an office productivity suite really doesn't need to be considered. We've got a digital camera that we primarily use on vacations and when we've got a good home-improvement project going on, so managing those photos and such would be cool. I'm a guitarist and I've had lots of fun multi-tracking over the years, so GarageBand looks like fun to dabble with. No music gadgets to speak of (I know, I know, welcome to the late 20th century already...), so those won't really play into any decisions at this point.

Anyway - for a basic, home productivity and schoolwork type of setup, what should I be looking for? Conventional wisdom in PC's has always been more/bigger is better, since the software gets greedier every year or so - is the same the case with the Mac? Is a 2.4 or 2.8Ghz CPU noticibly better than a 2.0? Will one option be OK now, and leave me grumbling 24 months down the road? Is 1GB of RAM sufficient, or do I really need to spring for 2 or 4?

What kinds of stuff am I likely to find on a Mac that I never even thought of, that's going to make me look back and say "Man, I should have added X when I bought the thing!"

This is one of those fun times where I know that I don't even know what I don't know. So help me out!!! ;)

stratslinger on

• Options
    MichaelLCMichaelLC In what furnace was thy brain? ChicagoRegistered User regular