Options

Possible career change

langfor6langfor6 Registered User regular
edited April 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
I'm thinking about going back to school. I graduated with a BA in English Lit in 2001, but I had a rather poor GPA (2.4).

I'm considering a complete career change, for instance into something more math and science oriented, like engineering or medicine. I'm not really looking to pursue a graduate degree in literature at all.

The problem I'm having is that I have about 120 credits of low GPA preventing me from getting into any programs. Most of the ones I've looked at have requirements of 3.0 or higher.

Is there any way to overcome my previous poor performance? Any sort of conditional acceptance offered by schools? Any way I can make a deal with a department head to get in? For argument's sake, let's assume I'm fully capable of doing the coursework in a math or science oriented discipline, and just need a chance to prove it.

Should I just give up these crazy ideas and go work in a sweatshop factory for the rest of my days?

langfor6 on

• Options
    IncenjucarIncenjucar VChatter Seattle, WARegistered User regular
    edited April 2008
    Have you tried getting your worst grades erased or replaced?

Incenjucar on
  • Options
    edited April 2008
    It has been a long time since I've been in school, so bear with me here, but when I attended the only way to replace grades was to retake the class. My school had a limit on how many credits you could retake, which I think I maxed by my second year. It took me five years to get a four year degree. My college career was a very ugly debacle that I'm not exactly proud of, even though I'm the first in my family to graduate from college.

As far as erasing grades, I'm not sure how one goes about doing that. I thought my transcript was basically set in stone.

langfor6 on
  • Options
    matt has a problemmatt has a problem Points to 'off' Points to 'on'Registered User regular
    edited April 2008