As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Need advice about my new job

HorusHorus Los AngelesRegistered User regular
edited April 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
Ok here is the deal, I got a web job but my background is print for three years. I learned web going to night school. I was very honest on my skills during the interview and still landed the job (passed the test for knowing essential HTML and PHP).

I take work home to learn more about it, yes I know its bad if they found out but I am at a disadvantage and do not want to appear as a lag in the company. I only have three weeks in the company so I am still in the nooby stage. I just want to get ready when my honeymoon ends and the big campaigns come and since I don't know how things are done ahead of time it really freaks me out.

I need tips, advice and recommendations that can range from how to handle a job that is drastically different from past jobs (almost career change), the do's and don'ts when you start a new job, recommendation of XHTML, CSS and PHP books, sites, and videos or tips on methodology (or how to think) when working in web.

Reason I post this is my way of thinking is I like to plan ahead just to get an idea and prepare myself. So I hope H/A is able to help me in my situation.

tl;dr I got a web job, coming from print background. I am freaking out I do not know anything or want to learn as much as possible so I won't look like an idiot in my job. I need advice ranging from starting a job in a new career, and tips/advice on web design.

thank you

“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You're on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who'll decide where to go...”
― Dr. Seuss, Oh, the Places You'll Go!
Horus on