As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Help me find a new laptop

PemulisPemulis Registered User regular
edited April 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
Hello all, I was hoping you guys could help me find a new laptop computer.

The screen is starting to go (has some black lines and is really dark) on my old Compaq Evo, so I need a replacement.

I'm don't need it to be a gaming computer, I have a desktop for that, I just want it to do the usual stuff: internet, office, movies and be decently fast. I am also on a rather limited budget, $400 - 500 would be great, but if that's not possible maybe up to $700. I would rather sacrifice some speed or features for price.

I am a university student in the U.S., so any of those sort of discounts would work for me.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Edit: My school gets a ~10% discount from Dell, if that helps...

Pemulis on

• Options
    honkymcgoohonkymcgoo Registered User regular
    edited April 2008
    if you dont mind going used, Id say check out craigslist. There are even new in box things on there so you could get a deal on a new one. The other plus to craigslist is you can offer someone a trade. I just heard back from a dude who had the black macbook all pimped out,t hen upgraded to the macbook pro. Im trading him a spare ipod touch ive got lying around and giving him 200 cash and getting this:

# 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    # 2GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 2x1GB
    # 250GB Serial ATA Drive @ 5400 rpm
    # SuperDrive 8x (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
    # Keyboard/Mac OS - U.S. English
    # AirPort Extreme Card & Bluetooth