As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Dual-screening with a Cintiq? (help)

DjiemDjiem Registered User regular
Hi guys, I figured this place was more suited than H/A for my question since it's regarding technology:

Basically, I've got a monitor and a 20" Cintiq tablet, and I want to dual-screen. My other monitor is an old 17" 4/3 CRT monitor and my tablet is a 20" 16/10 screen. However, while I'm sufficiently knowledgeable about most things computer-related, I am a total noob in the dual-screening topic. I know I have to have the right video card to do it (I got a PCI express port), so here's what I want to know basically:

- What videocard is good enough to play games and dual-screen (right now I got an ATI Radeon X1600 pro, I'd like something at least equal or better than this (ideally better, I don't think that's gonna be hard to find))?
- Will the Cintiq still work the way it works now (pen hits screen, position is absolute) even when dual-screening (that's what I'd like it to do, obviously)?
- How do I choose what screen I want games that go Fullscreen (say, Guild Wars) on?
- I have a 12x9 Intuos, can I force it to only pick up the old monitor (since the Cintiq is its own tablet)?
- Can I put my tools (say, in Photoshop) on the smaller monitor and use my Cintiq as a pure drawing zone?
- What else should I know?

Thanks in advance.

PS: I have another small question to people who own a Cintiq: Is it better to let a screensaver run on it as if it were a normal screen or to turn it off and on? I thought that always switching the power of something was more damageable on the a monitor, but I don't know how the tablet reacts.

Djiem on

• Options
    DratatooDratatoo Registered User regular
    edited April 2008