As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Pimp My Ride: iPod Classic

HilleanHillean Registered User regular
I recently picked up my first iPod (80gig Classic), and I was wondering what kind of accessories and/or programs work well with it?

I know iTunes is the basic, but I'm fairly new to the product, curious on what everyone's opinions are.

greenguy1980.jpg
Hillean on

• Options
    Evil_ReaverEvil_Reaver Registered User regular
    edited May 2008
    iTunes is, in my opinion, the best application to use to manage your music/your iPod. If you're on a Mac, it's really the only choice. I know Winamp can talk to iPods, but I don't like the interface. Not sure about WMP.

The only real accessory you need for your iPod is a screen protector (something like this). Get a case if you care about the back getting scratched, but otherwise, I find that accessories are a waste of money.

Evil_Reaver on
    XBL: Agitated Wombat | 3DS: 2363-7048-2527
  • Options
    KalTorakKalTorak One way or another, they all end up in the Undercity.Registered User regular
    edited May 2008
    As far as scratch protection goes, I've always had good luck with www.bestskinsever.com. They have custom-cut skins to fit pretty much every device that aren't very expensive. I've had one on my 5G ipod, phone, and DS and haven't had a problem yet.

KalTorak on
  • Options
    sir_pinch-a-loafsir_pinch-a-loaf #YODORegistered User regular
    edited May 2008
    For my 5.5gen, I really like the Contour Showcase. I know some people just use screen protectors or rubber sleeves, but those aren't really going to help at all if you drop the thing. I like the hard case/rubberized edges. Sure, it won't perform miracles, but I'd rather have it there than nothing at all.