As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Removing locks on records in an Oracle DB (UPDATED 5-29-08)

whuppinswhuppins Registered User regular
edited May 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
I'm a total novice when it comes to Oracle, so please don't assume I know how to do anything. Unfortunately, I'm the one who has to deal with this current problem and as far as I can tell, the only weapon at my disposal is SQL*Plus.

We use software at work that's based on an Oracle 9 DB. The software we're working with isn't letting us update a record because it says that the record is locked by a user. I've shut down the instance, rebooted the server, and killed as many sessions as possible. There don't seem to be any lingering sessions that would be hanging onto these records.

V$LOCKED_OBJECT is empty and the only remaining sessions are unkillable (SQL*Plus spits out ORA-00029, "session is not a user session" when I try to kill them... they seem to be stemming from Windows services on the server machine). There are 30+ entries in DBMS_LOCK_ALLOCATED, though I don't know anything about that table (I just randomly found it when searching for tables with "lock" in the name) and it may be a total red herring. However, the entries therein do appear to be related to our software.

So, how do I go about unlocking records? Deleting from DBMS_LOCK_ALLOCATED seems pretty cavalier, and of course it may not actually remove the lock. Thoughts?

whuppins on

• Options
    vonPoonBurGervonPoonBurGer Registered User regular
    edited May 2008