As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

M2N Sli Deluxe Mobo problems

DyvionDyvion Back in Sunny Florida!!Registered User regular
I've been running an M2N Sli Deluxe for 2 years now, and it's had very little problems... I got it along with an AMD Athlon 64 3800+ 2.4 ghz, running 1.5 gigs of ram and two 7600 GT's.

When I first put the system together on certain games I would get fuzzy lines around anything that stands out from the background in certain games (any source game, just to name a few) and I found a fix for it... just take off the SLI Bridge. The performance drop was very small, and the weird fuzzy lines went away. (Apparently the 84 series drivers didn't have that issue, but any drivers since then have... go figure.) In any case I decided to see if the new drivers fixed the old problem, so I reinstalled my SLI bridge, and lo and behold... it's still there. I've searched all over and not found an answer besides removing the bridge. I'm going to start playing conan soon, and have more ram and an Athlon X2 on the way, but I want to eek as much as I can out of this baby, so I've been researching more into this. I still haven't found anything online, but reviewing all of my system specs etc. I stumbled upon something very weird. The M2N Sli Deluxe is supposed to have 2 PCIE 16 slots for graphics cards... but my second 7600 GT is only running at x8, instead of x16. I am highly suspicious that this may be the reason for the weird fuzzy lines I'm seeing. In the specs for the mobo it says you can adjust the PCIE settings, but for the life of me I haven't been able to figure out how. I've been backwards and forwards through the BIOS trying to find a setting to adjust, the only thing I found was adjusting voltage to the slots themselves.