Club PA 2.0 has arrived! If you'd like to access some extra PA content and help support the forums, check it out at patreon.com/ClubPA
The image size limit has been raised to 1mb! Anything larger than that should be linked to. This is a HARD limit, please do not abuse it.
Our new Indie Games subforum is now open for business in G&T. Go and check it out, you might land a code for a free game. If you're developing an indie game and want to post about it, follow these directions. If you don't, he'll break your legs! Hahaha! Seriously though.
Our rules have been updated and given their own forum. Go and look at them! They are nice, and there may be new ones that you didn't know about! Hooray for rules! Hooray for The System! Hooray for Conforming!

Modem terminal software? (free)

GrimReaperGrimReaper Registered User regular
Okay, so hyperterminal isn't in Vista and I need a terminal program that can use a dial-up modem. (i'm needing to connect into a oldish telephone system)

What choices do I have? I've tried Teraterm and that doesn't have the dial-up capability that is present in hyperterminal.

PSN | Steam
---
I've got a spare copy of Portal, if anyone wants it message me.
GrimReaper on

Posts

  • Dark ShroudDark Shroud Registered User regular
    edited May 2008
    If you have a dial up modem installed try the Phone and Modem Options and see if anything it listed for you.

    To access the Phone and Modem Options click the Start button (Windows Pearl now), clicking Control Panel, clicking Hardware and Sound, and then clicking Phone and Modem Options.

    Dark Shroud on
  • TransparentTransparent Registered User
    edited June 2008
    You can download hyperterminal for free at http://www.hilgraeve.com/htpe/

    Being the open source zealot I am I tried to find a better open source program. I found ponderosa, but you have to install a plugin to get serial functionality, so bleh hyperterminal does the job.

    Transparent on
    PAXtrain '10, let's do this!
  • JaninJanin Registered User
    edited June 2008
    PuTTY has a serial mode.

    Janin on
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • GrimReaperGrimReaper Registered User regular
    edited June 2008
    I solved the problem by copying over the hyperterminal files from an XP install. A bit of a fudge I admit but it did the trick.

    It isn't a direct serial connection by the way guys, it's modem to modem. So I needed something that gave me the ability to dial up the telephone exchange. (which is what hyperterminal gave)

    I use PuTTY for all my telnet and SSH needs already.

    success.png

    GrimReaper on
    PSN | Steam
    ---
    I've got a spare copy of Portal, if anyone wants it message me.
  • El GuacoEl Guaco Registered User regular
    edited June 2008
    Seriously? What's with the Maxwell Smart technology? Do you have a phone in your shoe as well? haha

    I'm just curious, since it's actually becoming rare to see new computers with a modem.

    El Guaco on



  • TransparentTransparent Registered User
    edited June 2008
    If you were any kind of geek at all you'd connect the serial interface in Putty to your modem and type ATDT yourself.

    Just kidding.

    Transparent on
    PAXtrain '10, let's do this!
Sign In or Register to comment.