As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Spyware help

turpentyineturpentyine Registered User regular
edited June 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
I got some sort of spyware that keeps giving random pop ups once in a while. I ran windows defender and it said it found a Trojan and removed it but the problem still persists. I have a Dell laptop with Vista on it.
Is there other good spyware programs I could install to try to get rid of this?
I tried looking this up in accumulated forum knowledge but when I clicked on the spyware thread it said forbidden.
Thnx.

turpentyine on

Posts

  • ThanatosThanatos Registered User regular
    edited May 2008
    Install Ad-Aware and Spybot Search & Destroy. Then, boot up in safe mode, run scans with both of them and Windows Defender. Immunize with Spybot.

    If that doesn't work, reformat.

    Thanatos on
  • Mmmm... Cocks...Mmmm... Cocks... Registered User regular
    edited May 2008
    Spybot Search and Destroy and Adaware were always favorites.

    Download.com always has a nice link.

    Mmmm... Cocks... on
  • FofamitFofamit Registered User regular
    edited May 2008
    Thanatos wrote: »
    Install Ad-Aware and Spybot Search & Destroy. Then, boot up in safe mode, run scans with both of them and Windows Defender. Immunize with Spybot.

    If that doesn't work, reformat.

    http://www.safer-networking.org/en/index.html

    Fofamit on
  • ihmmyihmmy Registered User regular
    edited May 2008
    avast also does good work on trojans and viruses, it may be prudent to put something like that on and run a good scan too

    ihmmy on
  • turpentyineturpentyine Registered User regular
    edited June 2008
    So I installed NOD32 and Spybot. They both found and deleted some stuff, but apperently not everything. I am still getting pop ups from IE. Whenever I start Internet explorer I get a warning from NOD32 saying it found some sort of asware trojan and when I tell it to delete I get an access denied message. It shows the exact location of the file but when I tried lookin for it in Vista that location does not exist. So is Vista preventing the antivirus from deleting this program and is it hiding certain folders also. Is there an option to stop vista from doing this?
    thnx

    turpentyine on
  • ThanatosThanatos Registered User regular
    edited June 2008
    Did you run the scans in safe mode (assuming Vista has safe mode)?

    Thanatos on
  • turpentyineturpentyine Registered User regular
    edited June 2008
    I did for NOD 32 = no improvement
    and doing it now for spybot = we'll see but have a feeling it wont help

    turpentyine on
  • turpentyineturpentyine Registered User regular
    edited June 2008
    Finished running spybot in safe mode and it did find some advare stuff and removed it but when i restarted my computer i am still getting pop ups

    turpentyine on
  • ZaelZael Registered User regular
    edited June 2008
    Do you have weird messages/icons in the systemtray?
    Did you still have popups in safemode, or was safemode peachy keen?

    Zael on
  • turpentyineturpentyine Registered User regular
    edited June 2008
    not in system tray
    not in safe mode
    it starts when i start internet explorer. internet explorer windows pop up taking me to random sites.
    its some sort of spyware i think.
    the antivirus finds it but something is not letting it remove it.

    turpentyine on
  • DeswaDeswa Registered User regular
    edited June 2008
    I had almost the exact same thing happen when I accidentally installed a MSN search bar onto IE. Is it possible you did the same?

    Deswa on
    gobassgo wrote:
    "It ain't rape, it's surprise sex!"
    wii : 3788 3264 2419 8070
  • turpentyineturpentyine Registered User regular
    edited June 2008
    no i have google tool bar
    i am thinking vista has some sort of protection on about deleting certain files or lookin into certain folders. anyone know how to turn that off?

    turpentyine on
  • turpentyineturpentyine Registered User regular
    edited June 2008
    So I ran avast and it said the virus is in the memory so it had restart the computer and do a scan before the memory is loaded. After that I am still getting pop ups.
    It said the name of the virus is win32 rootkit (rtk)

    turpentyine on
Sign In or Register to comment.