As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Sick Often - Calling in to work

dispatch.odispatch.o Registered User regular
edited June 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
I've done everything in the past from fast food, to sushi chef. Been a waiter and a register jockey at a gas station. Now I work in a hospital.

In my entire job history previous to working at a hospital (13 years?) I have called in sick few enough times that you could count them all on one hand. Everywhere I've worked, especially around food had a policy that if you're sick... go the fuck home. Especially my previous gig at a retirement home.

Since working in a hospital (2 years) I've called in sick probably 30 times. I've never faked it. I believe you have an obligation when dealing with people who are immunodeficient or have open wounds to not kill them with an infection that could have been avoided.

I wash my hands, I use sanitizer. The thing is, I'm not getting sick from the patients. I'm getting sick from the fucking nurses. I am a per-diem employee, this means while I get no sick or vacation time, I get a slight pay bump and can take any period I want off with no regard to seniority because it is unpaid.

We get nurses coming into work who have lost their voice, are running a fever everything shy of pink eye basically. No one says anything to them, but since they work in surgery (my department) they rarely deal with patients who aren't totally fucking looped out or unconcious.

I have to go to the floors, talk to patients and not sound like I'm dying. I do not get paid for being sick, nurses do. However they don't want to use sick time for actually being sick. They're never "sent" home, the union would never allow it.

Short Question: