As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Job Certification Legal Question

UltaruneUltarune Registered User regular
edited June 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
I'm a sleep technician, and in order to become registered, I need to pass an examination given every 3 months by the BRPT. Their website is here, the form to apply here (warning, pdf), and the guidelines for candidacy here (warning, pdf). My supervisor lives in another state, so in order to get her signature on the needed paperwork, I faxed it to her, she signed it and faxed it back, and I mailed everything out.

The BRPT told me that I am disqualified to take the test because of an "original ink" clause. I couldn't find it anywhere, so when I questioned this, the director told me that on the second page of the exam form, the paragraph "When completed, mail (faxes not accepted) the application with the appropriate fee and documentation so that the application, documentation and payment arrives in the BRPT offics no later than 5PM Eastern Standard Time time on the appropriate application deadline (see page 2 of the application)." means that they don't accept faxed pages that have been mailed to them. However, my reading of that paragraph is that they only accept the application if mailed to them, not faxed, which is a bit backwards, but hey, they can do what they want.