Options

Quick Q!: 9800 GTX+ and 9800 GTX

artooartoo Registered User regular
edited September 2008 in Moe's Stupid Technology Tavern
Can I SLI these 2 cards?

I have in my case: An XFX 9800 GTX XXX Edition (Overclocked basically)

I want this card to SLI with it.

I assume GTX+ and just GTX are compatible?

artoo on

Posts

  • Options
    Desert_Eagle25Desert_Eagle25 Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    You shouldn't SLI unless you're going high resolution. More bang for the buck by using a single, more powerful card.

    Otherwise, yes they can SLI, though you should put GTX+ in your first (master) slot.

    Desert_Eagle25 on
  • Options
    Macro9Macro9 Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    Yes you can (according to EVGAs knowledge base) SLI them.

    Macro9 on
    58pwo4vxupcr.png
  • Options
    artooartoo Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    Thanks guys. I bought this 9800 GTX a while back, but now I want the GTX+ for my birthday. It's mainly for Crysis. (Of course!) I can run it on all High pretty much solid 30 frames, but I want to play it on Very High.

    artoo on
  • Options
    Macro9Macro9 Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    If it was me though I would save the money for the second 9800GTX and sell the one I have. With that you should be able to afford a 4870 or GTX260. Those will perform just as good (especially with AA) if not better than SLI'd 9800GTX's. That would also leave you with an upgrade path for the future in terms of crossfired 4870's or SLI'd GTX260's.

    Macro9 on
    58pwo4vxupcr.png
  • Options
    artooartoo Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    Honestly, I think my dad would be a little pissed that he got me a 9800 recently now I'm selling it. :lol:

    BTW: Running at 1280x1024 so I think I'll get the performance I want.

    artoo on
  • Options
    Macro9Macro9 Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    That would be a good reason not to. You'll still be able to max out everything you play. Maybe not very high 19X10 on Crysis, but there's more out there to game on than that.

    Macro9 on
    58pwo4vxupcr.png
  • Options
    artooartoo Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    Macro9 wrote: »
    That would be a good reason not to. You'll still be able to max out everything you play. Maybe not very high 19X10 on Crysis, but there's more out to game on than that.

    Well, I like to have a little bit of future proofing in case I get a bigger monitor.

    (I know I'm fighting you all the way. :lol: Crysis Very High is so sexy!)

    artoo on
  • Options
    Macro9Macro9 Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    Well very high performance will depend on your CPU and it's speed. A Core 2 Quad at 3.8GHZ and OCd, SLI'd 9800GTX's should get high 20's to low 30's on very high. This is at 1680X1050.

    Macro9 on
    58pwo4vxupcr.png
  • Options
    artooartoo Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    Heres my Specs:
    Core 2 Duo 3.0 GHZ (Stock Speed)
    NForce 790i Mobo
    2GB DDR3
    9800 GTX OC'd

    artoo on
  • Options
    TransparentTransparent Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    12v amps / rails on your power supply enough? Does it have enough PCIe connectors?

    Transparent on
    PAXtrain '10, let's do this!
  • Options
    Macro9Macro9 Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    Run some benchmarks with the Crysis benchmark when you get your second card. Curious to see how it performs.

    Macro9 on
    58pwo4vxupcr.png
  • Options
    artooartoo Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    12v amps / rails on your power supply enough? Does it have enough PCIe connectors?

    I got an Antec 500 Watt PSU, not sure on all that stuff, gotta check. :lol:

    @Marco9: Sure will.

    artoo on
  • Options
    Desert_Eagle25Desert_Eagle25 Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    artoo wrote: »
    12v amps / rails on your power supply enough? Does it have enough PCIe connectors?

    I got an Antec 500 Watt PSU, not sure on all that stuff, gotta check. :lol:

    @Marco9: Sure will.

    Good god get a new PSU if you're gonna SLI.

    Desert_Eagle25 on
  • Options
    Macro9Macro9 Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    He should be fine if it is the Neo Power model. Not sure about the Earthwatts model.

    Macro9 on
    58pwo4vxupcr.png
  • Options
    Desert_Eagle25Desert_Eagle25 Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    http://web.aanet.com.au/SnooP/psucalc.php

    Pretty accurate from what I can tell. If he is using an Antec Earthwatts he'll need something with more aps on it's 12v rail.

    Desert_Eagle25 on
  • Options
    artooartoo Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    Fuuuuuuck, its Earthwatts. D:

    artoo on
  • Options
    Macro9Macro9 Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    You'll definitely need a new PSU.

    Macro9 on
    58pwo4vxupcr.png
  • Options
    artooartoo Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    Any suggestions? :P

    artoo on
  • Options
    Macro9Macro9 Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
  • Options
    artooartoo Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    Looks like I'm gonna have to sell some things... :lol:

    Thanks for the help guys! <3

    artoo on
  • Options
    artooartoo Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    Haha, that the cheapest I can get with the setup I have in mind?

    artoo on
  • Options
    Desert_Eagle25Desert_Eagle25 Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    That's actually a good deal.

    Desert_Eagle25 on
  • Options
    artooartoo Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    That's actually a good deal.

    Alright then. :lol:

    artoo on
  • Options
    AzioAzio Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    You shouldn't SLI unless you're going high resolution. More bang for the buck by using a single, more powerful card.

    Otherwise, yes they can SLI, though you should put GTX+ in your first (master) slot.
    Do you think SLI would help much at 1920x1080?

    Azio on
  • Options
    Desert_Eagle25Desert_Eagle25 Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    Azio wrote: »
    You shouldn't SLI unless you're going high resolution. More bang for the buck by using a single, more powerful card.

    Otherwise, yes they can SLI, though you should put GTX+ in your first (master) slot.
    Do you think SLI would help much at 1920x1080?

    Read this part of the review from Guru3D.

    Desert_Eagle25 on
  • Options
    artooartoo Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    Ordering the PSU you suggested, thanks alot man. Gonna order the card soon as well. Benchmarks coming when I get em.

    artoo on
  • Options
    1ddqd1ddqd Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    Wow, that really is a good deal on that PSU. What a monster. Provantage ships right south of me, took 2 days to get what I ordered (Logitech Z-680s a few years back) (day of ordering included).

    1ddqd on
  • Options
    EliminationElimination Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    Crysis isnt really the end all be all. I have the 9800GTX OC'd by itself anf other than crysis, everything i have runs on max settings no problem at high frame rates. Crysis even runs extremely well. Also one way to improve performance with Crysis, it really likes multiple cores. I went from a dual core to a quad core 9750 and the performance in Crysis rocketed upward.

    Elimination on
    PSN: PA_Elimination 3DS: 4399-2012-1711 Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/TheElimination/
  • Options
    artooartoo Registered User regular
    edited August 2008
    Crysis isn't the only factor, I'd like to take advantage of my Mobo and I like to have some future proofing.

    artoo on
  • Options
    artooartoo Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    PSU arrived, and its a heavy sucker. Will have card next week or so.

    artoo on
Sign In or Register to comment.