As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/

Question about dish network/satellite dishes

noir_bloodnoir_blood Registered User regular
edited September 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
Hey guys,

I signed up with Dish Network yesterday, and at the time thought the guy that helped me was great and gave me the correct information. Turns out, he failed to mention that your satellite dish needs to be facing the southward sky in order to work. Now, my apartment is facing the north sky, but it's a corner one, so there is a ledge, balcony kinda thing that faces the SW side.

In people's satellite experience, does it have to be facing EXACTLY in the south side in order to work, or is there some leeway? I'm worried about this because the guy also failed to mention there would be a 99 dollars activation fee(even after I specifically asked if there would be anything charged to the card I gave him), and even though the other agents I have talked to have told me it is refundable, I have my doubts..

noir_blood on

Posts

  • SzechuanosaurusSzechuanosaurus Registered User, ClubPA regular
    edited September 2008
    It needs to basically be pointing directly at the satellite, so if that's in the sky to the South then, yeah, gotta point South. If your balcony points SW, then they might be able to angle it round the corner so it's pointing South. Otherwise they'll have to either mount it on the rear of the building or up on the roof. It also needs and unobstructed view of the sky (angle will depend on where the satellite is), so if there is another apartment blocking the view for example, then the roof might be the only option anyway. Depending on the provider, their engineers may only be able to install the dish a certain height above the ground (like, first or second story) so if it needs to go onto the roof, you might need to hire an independent contractor to do the dish installation.

    I should hope if they can't install a dish that they will return any charges.

    Szechuanosaurus on
  • ZeonZeon Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    Well you may be in luck because dish network is actually to the south west.

    Zeon on
    btworbanner.jpg
    Check out my band, click the banner.
  • see317see317 Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    Zeon wrote: »
    Well you may be in luck because dish network is actually to the south west.
    Depending on where you're located and which of the 10 satelites you're pulling feed from...

    As for getting a refund if they can't make it work, call up and ask the CSR. If that fails, ask to speak to their coach or manager and keep going up the line until you get someone who says yes.

    see317 on
  • RUNN1NGMANRUNN1NGMAN Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    Seems like it's worth a try--worst case is it doesn't work, right?

    You might also want to check what your apartment building's policy about dishes is. Federal law prohibits them from banning dishes on balconies outright, but they might have policies against them hanging off your balcony into space. Depending on what floor you are on that could be a safety hazard.

    RUNN1NGMAN on
  • ImprovoloneImprovolone Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    Don't forget to plug your receiver into an active phone line or ethernet port on your router, it'll save you 5 a month.

    Improvolone on
    Voice actor for hire. My time is free if your project is!
  • embrikembrik Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    Check this out: Dish Pointing calc. Throw in your address, and pick which Dish Network dish you'll have (Likely under the Multi-LNB category). It'll show you which direction you point the dish, superimposed over a Google Map of your location.

    embrik on
    "Damn you and your Daily Doubles, you brigand!"

    I don't believe it - I'm on my THIRD PS3, and my FIRST XBOX360. What the heck?
  • NewtonNewton Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    Don't forget to plug your receiver into an active phone line or ethernet port on your router, it'll save you 5 a month.

    My receiver isn't plugged into a phone line or my router. What am I being charged extra for? I don't remember anything when I got my stuff installed about having to pay more if I didn't plug into a phone line.

    Newton on
  • ImprovoloneImprovolone Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    Yea, they don't tell you about it.
    I'm not sure of it's purpose, but they charge you for no having it.

    Improvolone on
    Voice actor for hire. My time is free if your project is!
Sign In or Register to comment.