As was foretold, we've added advertisements to the forums! If you have questions, or if you encounter any bugs, please visit this thread: https://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/240191/forum-advertisement-faq-and-reports-thread/
Options

Spore on Mac question (system specs post 6)

The Last GentThe Last Gent Registered User regular
edited September 2008 in Help / Advice Forum
I hear Spore's available for the Imac. Is the regular release Mac compatible right out of the box, or do I need to track down a Mac version? Also, are there any finicky system requirements?

The Last Gent on

Posts

  • Options
    BelruelBelruel NARUTO FUCKS Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    my macbook pro plays it pretty okish, i have to turn down some of the settings, but once i did it plays pretty smoothly.

    and the version out of the box is both mac and pc

    Belruel on
    vmn6rftb232b.png
  • Options
    RecklessReckless Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    I can't run it on my older MacBook with the GMA 750 in here.

    Reckless on
  • Options
    The Last GentThe Last Gent Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    Well, good that it's out of the box Mac compatible, if it wasn't I'd say screw it, I don't normally game on my mac, or track down mac games, but if its right there and compatible, why not. I have a Macbook running OSX Leopard I got about a year ago, that seem good enough? I'm really illiterate when it comes to system requirements, I didn't even PC game very much back in the day before I switched over (that was certainly a factor).

    The Last Gent on
  • Options
    VisionOfClarityVisionOfClarity Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    Just check the requirements for the game and look at what you have on your computer.

    VisionOfClarity on
  • Options
    The Last GentThe Last Gent Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    Okay, here's my system specs:
    Model Name: MacBook
    Model Identifier: MacBook3,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.2 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 4 MB
    Memory: 1 GB
    Bus Speed: 800 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: MB31.008D.B00
    SMC Version: 1.24f2
    Serial Number: W8743BP2Z63
    Sudden Motion Sensor:
    State: Enabled


    And from wikipedia, the Mac system requirements:

    Mac: Mac OS X 10.5.3 Leopard, Intel Core Duo, 1024 MB RAM, 4.7 GB of hard drive space, plus additional space for creations

    So, am I reading that "hard drive space" thing incorrectly, or do I not have enough memory?

    The Last Gent on
  • Options
    VisionOfClarityVisionOfClarity Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    From what I'm looking at you should be fine with memory. I can't imagine you don't have enough hard drive space unless you've got a small one.

    VisionOfClarity on
  • Options
    DmanDman Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    Memory: 1GB = 1024 MB RAM

    You didn't post how much hard drive space you have

    Dman on
  • Options
    RecklessReckless Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    Like I said, I'd be worried about your video card. Which do you have?

    Reckless on
  • Options
    Dark MoonDark Moon Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    Reckless wrote: »
    Like I said, I'd be worried about your video card. Which do you have?

    Macbooks use the Intel Integrated GMA 3100 integrated graphics processor, which is specifically mentioned as acceptable in the official Spore requirements.

    Basically, if you're on a third gen Macbook bought late 2007 or later, you're fine. First and second generation Macbooks use the Intel Integrated GMA 950 graphics processor and will not run Spore.

    Dark Moon on
    3072973561_de17a80845_o.jpg
  • Options
    The Last GentThe Last Gent Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    Hmm, just to be sure, where do I go to check what my hard drive space is, then?

    The Last Gent on
  • Options
    Casual EddyCasual Eddy The Astral PlaneRegistered User regular
    edited September 2008
    Dark Moon wrote: »
    Reckless wrote: »
    Like I said, I'd be worried about your video card. Which do you have?

    Macbooks use the Intel Integrated GMA 3100 integrated graphics processor, which is specifically mentioned as acceptable in the official Spore requirements.

    Basically, if you're on a third gen Macbook bought late 2007 or later, you're fine. First and second generation Macbooks use the Intel Integrated GMA 950 graphics processor and will not run Spore.

    the integrated graphics will probably run sort of crappy though

    definitely playable, but on the cruddy side I would imagine.

    Casual Eddy on
  • Options
    The Last GentThe Last Gent Registered User regular
    edited September 2008
    So, can anyone here tell me how to check my hard drive space? That's my one remaining unknown, and I won't get the game unless i'm 100 percent sure its going to work, this is why I normally ignore PC/Mac games.

    The Last Gent on
  • Options
    FFFF Once Upon a Time In OaklandRegistered User regular
    edited September 2008
    So, can anyone here tell me how to check my hard drive space? That's my one remaining unknown, and I won't get the game unless i'm 100 percent sure its going to work, this is why I normally ignore PC/Mac games.

    Highlight your hard drive icon (usually named "Macintosh HD" unless you've changed it), go to the file menu and choose "Get Info". It'll tell you how much space you have, how much is used and how much is left.

    From the specs, I think you'll be fine, albeit a little bit slow. At some point you should look into upgrading the RAM.

    FF on
    Huh...
Sign In or Register to comment.